Aunt Eileen's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Prep time was more than 20 minutes. Overall, I was expecting better. My guests were disappointed as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I like it very much. ALready made it twice and guess will make it soon again. It's very easy to make yet so tasty. A bit hot, so you can add less pepper. It's really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. I put in a little more garlic than it called for, and we used sharp cheddar cheese instead of gruyere. It was really delicious! We had some ideas of using the filler for appetizers by stuffing mushroom caps with it or wrapping it in filo dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Great recipe!! I also added two cans of Devil's Ham to the mixture to give it a meaty flavor. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Great recipe! My meat-loving boyfriend even liked it. I put the eggplant, onion and garlic in the food processor and I put the filling in the refrigerator for a couple hours to allow the flavors to develop. Thanks! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Thanks, Aunt Eileen! What an incredible vegetarian recipe! Hollow the eggplant halves to leave a very thin layer (1/4 inch) of flesh, so that when it bakes, the remaining flesh is cooked tender and pulls easily away from the skin... I deglazed the pan with some of the vinegar from the capers jar to get the great caramelization from the bottom and added it to the bowl of stuffing... I also substituted Pecorino Romano cheese for the Gruyere (because that's what I had)... I really was surprised at how well it turned out... I will definitely invite guests the next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe..I didn't have any black olives, and i used swiss cheese (8oz) instead, and it still came out GREAT. I can't wait to try it with the gruyere chese, and black olives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Its very pretty but the taste isnt there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Pawlicki
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I used cheddar chesse in the stuffing (that's what I had) and spinkled parm. chesse on the top. This is a really good recipe I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Pawlicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunshine Summit, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My hubby who doesn't like eggplant at all ate this. I accidentally added too many bread crumbs (i cut the recipe in half) so i threw in an egg and some zucchini and extra black olives! I also used italian flavored bread crumbs cuz it was all i had on hand. Which made it a little overpowering with all the other flavors, but i still thought it was good, will be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States