Aunt Dot's Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Awesome stew!!! It was simple and easy to make. I used a crock pot - and let it cook for most of the day. I added a little more salt and pepper to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Maybe this is obvious, but I found it odd that the recipe didn't instruct you to brown the turkey first. Also, I omitted the bacon, added a cup of lima beans and a dash of cayenne pepper for a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe had an odd mixture of flavours. Also, I love salt, but even this was too much! I recommend removing the regular salt altogether, and just keeping the garlic salt. Overall, an interesting recipe, but not one I'll put into my regular meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was an ok base recipe, I used chicken broth instead of water & cut out the bacon & salts. Needs a little fine tuning, I'll have to make some changes next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I followed others' suggestions and cut back the salt signficantly. I also made this in the crock pot, cooked on low about 7 hours, with the ingredients layered in the order listed. I would recommend decreasing the liquid if you are making this in a crock pot. Also, next time I think I will cook the bacon on the side and serve it as a topping to sprinkle over; cooked with the rest of the ingredients, I was disappointed that it did not contribute much flavor. Overall, good and my husband commented on the wealth of flavors -- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is basically ok, but 3 tsp. salt and especially 3 tsp. black pepper is way too much! I cut out the salt entirely and added slightly less than a tsp. of pepper, but some in my family still thought it was too spicy. Other than that, though, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Thank you for the warnings about salt. I didn't have any turkey or beef, so we used chicken. I partially cooked the bacon in a skillet, just enough to draw out some grease, and then cooked cubed chicken in the bacon grease (yum). Because the chicken and bacon were already partially cooked, I only cooked the stew for about an hour. Turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Great recipe. Agree with others that the salt is too much. Here's how I decided to make it. Substitute ground buffalo (bison) for the turkey. Eliminate salt alltogether (diners can add to taste). Reduce garlic salt to 2 tsp and add 1 tsp minced garlic. I also added a diced shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
sorry didn't like this one very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
A bit peppery for me, but this is one of those recipes that if I don't fix it, my husband will make it for himself...so it's gotta be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States