Aunt Dorothy's Marinated Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was simply fantastic. Followed the recipe ingredients and preparation exactly- just changed to all green peppers- and used whole baby carrots. One tip that really helped with the presentation: Marinate in the delicious sauce for 24 hrs- then drain them before serving. They will retain the yummy flavoring but won't be swimming in the sauce. Looks more like a carrot salad. Ideal for a picnic or buffet table. Even my picky kids loved this!! I have added this to my favorites!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This also is a family favorite of mine. This is the dish I bring every Christmas for family gatherings.The only thing I do different is put the soup 1/2c oil,1/4c vin.3/4c.sugar no cayenne,(1 tsp. worcestershire) into a pot on stove and heat on med.until well blended, and sugar melts.I also prefer my veggies just lightly sauted,and I also add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was very tasty and simple to make. I didn't have tomato soup, so I substituted French dressing and omitted the oil. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I love this dish!! Rich, robust flavor, and the longer it lasts, the better it tastes! I prefer not to blend the dressing, though, but to just whisk the ingredients. When blended the dressing is a pale orange, like bottled french dressing. I prefer to have the deeper red hue to my dressing. No difference in taste, just appearance. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Senoia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Fabulous!! WE love it!! Everyone who ever made a carrot salad needs to make this one. Very Yummy! Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Since just for me, I cut the recipe in half. Instead o soup, I used 2 T. tomato paste and pinch of clove. Used 1/4 c. sugar (and still maybe a little too sweet), 1/4 c. oil (plenty or me). YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was very good. I followed the recipe exactly - EXCEPT - I forgot to pre-cook the carrots and didn't remember until it was all assembled except for the peppers. So I put it in a covered pot, brought it to the boil, turned off the stove and let it cool, then I added the peppers and onions and refrigerated it all. For serving, I drained the excess liquid off the salad. Everyone enjoyed it although they were certainly surprised at the flavor. Could easily serve at least 12 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was not a big hit in our home. I tried it because I had a two pound bag of Carrots and the Tomato Soup on hand. The five star rating and many excellent reviews prompted me to give it a whirl. It may be better in the summer along with a picnic or cookout but it didn't entice us in the middle of the Winter. I did use whole baby carrots which I do agree make a better presentation. I marinated it overnight and it did blend all the flavors but had a bit too much vinegar for my taste. I like the idea of a Tomato flavor on the Carrots but I just do not like using canned soup in almost any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is a great colorful salad for potlucks, and it's nice because it can be made ahead of time and stays nice and crispy. I made one change due to personal taste, and I just wanted to see how it would be. I omitted the onion and added chopped fennel bulb. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but thought I'd give it a try because it was so healthy. Lo and behold, I was eating my heart out at about 1 a.m. when I finished it. It was GREAT! Note:I actually liked it better right after I finished it, not after the wait until the next day. I liked the flavors being a little more separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States