Aunt Dorothy's Marinated Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This also is a family favorite of mine. This is the dish I bring every Christmas for family gatherings.The only thing I do different is put the soup 1/2c oil,1/4c vin.3/4c.sugar no cayenne,(1 tsp. worcestershire) into a pot on stove and heat on med.until well blended, and sugar melts.I also prefer my veggies just lightly sauted,and I also add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Fabulous!! WE love it!! Everyone who ever made a carrot salad needs to make this one. Very Yummy! Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was simply fantastic. Followed the recipe ingredients and preparation exactly- just changed to all green peppers- and used whole baby carrots. One tip that really helped with the presentation: Marinate in the delicious sauce for 24 hrs- then drain them before serving. They will retain the yummy flavoring but won't be swimming in the sauce. Looks more like a carrot salad. Ideal for a picnic or buffet table. Even my picky kids loved this!! I have added this to my favorites!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This went over very well at a pot luck luncheon. It is so colorfull, which is something I like. It was still enjoyed a week later. I used baby carrots and steamed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but thought I'd give it a try because it was so healthy. Lo and behold, I was eating my heart out at about 1 a.m. when I finished it. It was GREAT! Note:I actually liked it better right after I finished it, not after the wait until the next day. I liked the flavors being a little more separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have been looking for this recipe.I had it at a bbq at the in-laws.Thank you so much.I bring it for pot luck all the time......Luv It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I love this recipe in fact in South Africa, where I live, it is called "copper penny salad" and has been around for generations, a great standby during our long hot summers. I try to reduce the oil as most of my family are weight concious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
this is really good, i think it would have been better shredded instead of sliced. all the onions and peppers get left behind because the slide off the carrot rounds. make a day ahead. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Nice and easy recipe that is best when made the day before. Ever since I made my family requests it for every family affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is a great colorful salad for potlucks, and it's nice because it can be made ahead of time and stays nice and crispy. I made one change due to personal taste, and I just wanted to see how it would be. I omitted the onion and added chopped fennel bulb. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States