Aunt Dorothy's Marinated Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I got a recipe like this back in the 70's and we loved it. It only called for one type of pepper (green) but that's before the others were more widely available. Ours was a little different because we used prepared mustard and Worcestershire instead of cayenne. A friend used frozen cut carrots, cooked to save time. Haven't done that yet. Seems like we used less oil too. Thanks for reminding me to use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Since just for me, I cut the recipe in half. Instead o soup, I used 2 T. tomato paste and pinch of clove. Used 1/4 c. sugar (and still maybe a little too sweet), 1/4 c. oil (plenty or me). YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was very good. I followed the recipe exactly - EXCEPT - I forgot to pre-cook the carrots and didn't remember until it was all assembled except for the peppers. So I put it in a covered pot, brought it to the boil, turned off the stove and let it cool, then I added the peppers and onions and refrigerated it all. For serving, I drained the excess liquid off the salad. Everyone enjoyed it although they were certainly surprised at the flavor. Could easily serve at least 12 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very Tasty but the recipe is huge. used all kinds of veggies from the garden but my wife and I got tired of it way before it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biff Schaefer
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was very tasty and simple to make. I didn't have tomato soup, so I substituted French dressing and omitted the oil. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I love this dish!! Rich, robust flavor, and the longer it lasts, the better it tastes! I prefer not to blend the dressing, though, but to just whisk the ingredients. When blended the dressing is a pale orange, like bottled french dressing. I prefer to have the deeper red hue to my dressing. No difference in taste, just appearance. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Senoia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was not a big hit in our home. I tried it because I had a two pound bag of Carrots and the Tomato Soup on hand. The five star rating and many excellent reviews prompted me to give it a whirl. It may be better in the summer along with a picnic or cookout but it didn't entice us in the middle of the Winter. I did use whole baby carrots which I do agree make a better presentation. I marinated it overnight and it did blend all the flavors but had a bit too much vinegar for my taste. I like the idea of a Tomato flavor on the Carrots but I just do not like using canned soup in almost any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is a great colorful salad for potlucks, and it's nice because it can be made ahead of time and stays nice and crispy. I made one change due to personal taste, and I just wanted to see how it would be. I omitted the onion and added chopped fennel bulb. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Nice and easy recipe that is best when made the day before. Ever since I made my family requests it for every family affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
this is really good, i think it would have been better shredded instead of sliced. all the onions and peppers get left behind because the slide off the carrot rounds. make a day ahead. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States