Aunt Dee Dee's Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
This one is a keeper I have already passed it on to several people. My daughter also got involved in the baking process and helped chop the pie filling for easier spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I didn't have any canned pie filling (nor do I care for it) so I made my own; chopped up two large granny smith apples and mixed them with the 2 tsp sugar and also 1/2 cup brown sugar. I only had 1 egg so I substituted low-fat sour cream and it turned out GREAT! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
This cake is very good. I have also used peach pie filling instead of the apple pie filling and it came out just as well.You don't have to go thru peeling apples or peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This recipe is definitely a keeper! My husband thought it would be better with more apples, but I like it just like it was. My kids loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Thank you Lisa for a wonderful coffee cake recipe! The directions were perfect, the only exception was that I used a teaspoon to place the apple slices exactly where I wanted them. It seemed that there may not be enough, but by doing it this way, there were pieces of apple in every bite! Moist and delicious, I will make this coffee cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a wonderfully-balanced coffee cake recipe. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough. I would not recommend using another can of pie filling as others have recommended. It would throw off the balance. It's not imperative that the filling completely covers the first layer of cake batter; just use a spatula to spead it a little (and use a fork to chop the apple slices up a bit before spooning onto batter). Great recipe. Will probably use this holiday season. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is a "keeper"! The only thing I added was 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I also used a potato masher to break up the apples to make it easier to disperse. I had rave review from the family and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
i even forgot the eggs and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
2 cans of pie filling as others suggested would kill this recipe almost for sure...I would do what I did,and just slice up 2 extra apples.That made it perfect along with a splash of vanilla to the batter...I thought this was totally sinful-like pie topped cake-very good!!!Will make again for sure-way to go AUNT DEE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Excellent cake. It was not too sweet and perfect with a cup of coffee or tea or even for breakfast. I used fresh apples tossed wiht some brown sugar and cinnamon instead of pie filling and I feel it gave it a fresher taste. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States