Aunt Dee Dee's Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
I baked this for a meeting. Everyone really liked it alot. I did however, have to apply baking experience know- how to come out with a great tasting product that looks just as appetizing. I cut cinnamon in half. Beat in eggs one at a time , alternate dry ingred. with the milk. Take the time to spread batter even and to all corners of pan---spoon apple little by little over batter then spread even with a spatula. Crumble b. sugar with clean hands slowly over cake and spoon (i used baby spoon) butter over the topping. Great!!! A keepee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
This cake is very good. I have also used peach pie filling instead of the apple pie filling and it came out just as well.You don't have to go thru peeling apples or peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
2 cans of pie filling as others suggested would kill this recipe almost for sure...I would do what I did,and just slice up 2 extra apples.That made it perfect along with a splash of vanilla to the batter...I thought this was totally sinful-like pie topped cake-very good!!!Will make again for sure-way to go AUNT DEE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
My entire family of five loved the coffee cake. I found the recipe easy to follow. What I really like about this cake is that it smells wonderful and isn't overly sweet. I made this for my son's 8th grade bake sale. It was still warm when I brought it in. It was gone in an instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is a "keeper"! The only thing I added was 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I also used a potato masher to break up the apples to make it easier to disperse. I had rave review from the family and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
We really enjoy this simple coffeecake. My husband also substitutes other fruits into the recipe. Raspberry is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Living in Sweden, I couldn't buy pie filling, so I made homemade stuff. The cake itself was very boring, it definately needs an extra kick of something. maybe cinnamon, vanilla or both. It looked very appealing though, although my friends decided that it needed Vanilla Sauce. I'm not sure if I will try altering this recipe, or look for a new one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I didn't have any canned pie filling (nor do I care for it) so I made my own; chopped up two large granny smith apples and mixed them with the 2 tsp sugar and also 1/2 cup brown sugar. I only had 1 egg so I substituted low-fat sour cream and it turned out GREAT! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This recipe is definitely a keeper! My husband thought it would be better with more apples, but I like it just like it was. My kids loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
Nice and moist but nothing overly spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States