Aunt Dee Dee's Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Excellent cake. It was not too sweet and perfect with a cup of coffee or tea or even for breakfast. I used fresh apples tossed wiht some brown sugar and cinnamon instead of pie filling and I feel it gave it a fresher taste. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I didn't have any canned pie filling (nor do I care for it) so I made my own; chopped up two large granny smith apples and mixed them with the 2 tsp sugar and also 1/2 cup brown sugar. I only had 1 egg so I substituted low-fat sour cream and it turned out GREAT! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I made this on Sunday for my family and everyone loved it. On Monday I made it again and my husband took it into work. Again, it was a hit. I did cut my apples in half so they spread out better I think that 1 can of apples was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Made to take to work and everyone enjoyed, flavor was a little bland. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
2 cans of pie filling as others suggested would kill this recipe almost for sure...I would do what I did,and just slice up 2 extra apples.That made it perfect along with a splash of vanilla to the batter...I thought this was totally sinful-like pie topped cake-very good!!!Will make again for sure-way to go AUNT DEE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
i even forgot the eggs and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maxmankins
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Great cake for coffee! A couple things I did: 1) I mixed the cinnamon-apple mixture with a large metal spoon, cutting some of the apples in 1/2's and 1/4's in the process. 2) I mixed the eggs, sugar, butter and milk until it was well mixed - but the butter was still in small pieces. 3) While the above mixture was in my mixer, I placed the other dry ingrediant in a 2 qt plastic bag and mixed them together. Then added it gradually to the butter/milk mixture. 4) I added a few walnuts to the first layer of apples- personal preference. 5) Instead of water I used milk in the icing. That gives it a cinnamon roll type icing. Bon Appleteet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Marion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is a "keeper"! The only thing I added was 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I also used a potato masher to break up the apples to make it easier to disperse. I had rave review from the family and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a wonderfully-balanced coffee cake recipe. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough. I would not recommend using another can of pie filling as others have recommended. It would throw off the balance. It's not imperative that the filling completely covers the first layer of cake batter; just use a spatula to spead it a little (and use a fork to chop the apple slices up a bit before spooning onto batter). Great recipe. Will probably use this holiday season. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I tried this recipe recently and it was well received. I found one can of apple pie filling was not enough so I added fresh apple slices on top coated with cinnamon and sugar. Next time I will use two cans of apple pie filling and that should suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States