Aunt Cora's World's Greatest Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Very good cookies. Though I have others that I prefer to these, there's absolutely nothing wrong with them. They have a delicous peanut butter flavor with a dash of chocolate taste. I used half creamy, half crunchy peanut butter, and added a spoonfull more than the recipe called for. I also used a few peanut butter chips b/c I had some left over from another recipe. I only had 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips around the house, so I added another cup of milk chocolate chips. Lastly, I only bake with Lite margarine and it never seems to affect the taste of the final product. The cookies came out great after 13 minutes in the oven. Yummy and gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
These cookies are very good. Nice, crispy texture and not too flat. Made them a few weeks ago and still have 1/4 of a cookie jar left. We still prefer traditional chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAGHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is an excellent recipe! I followed the directions closely, my only 2 alterations were using salted butter (I'm a bad cook, it was all I had in the house!) and adding 1 tsp of vanilla as recommended. I baked each batch for 14 minutes, and let them sit a few before taking them off. I was worried at first because the dough seemed a bit too soft to me, but they turned out wonderfully! Soft, a bit crumbly, and the hit of the party! EDIT: I have made these at least 25 times over the past few years. I would recommend adding peanut butter chips, as well. The result is phenomenal! I also sometimes add Reeses Pieces or M&Ms, if I have them on hand. (I adjust the chocolate chips accordingly, I never put more than 3 cups total of add-ins.) I have a pound of butter softening for a double batch of these right now, and I'll do 2 cups of chocolate chips, 2 cups of peanut butter and 1 cup of Reese Pieces. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is really a great cookie recipe! As another baker had suggested I added 1/4 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. vanilla and they came out wonderful. I have to say I was tempted to let them stay in the oven a while longer than recommended because they just looked too uncooked but they werent...let them sit a minute...they have a nice delicate texture. Everyone who tried them loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This recipe was GREAT! The cookies were nice and chewy, not too hard or too soft. Like recommended, we add a tsp. of vanilla. We made half a batch, thinking that even 24 would be too much, but they magically disappeared in about 3 days! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This is a great recipe. To make a crunchier cookie put only 1/2cup of butter with less the fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Great texture & flavor! Did not spread out too much like some cookies. I used butter instead of margarine & mini chocolate chips instead of regular. My kids & husband loved them. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Mary, thanks for sharing Aunt Cora's recipe! They were so tastey! I made 1 batch according to the recipe and one batch with 1/3 cup roasted salted peanuts and 1t vanilla. Try the variation, they really enhance the peanut butter flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
wowie, these are good. i made an addition: i substituted oats for half of the flour and they were delicious. the hub took one bite and his eyes lit up. thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
These cookies are fanfreakingtastic!! I used powdered egg replacer in place of the eggs (I'm vegan and don't eat eggs.), and that worked fine. Other than that I used the ingredients and measurements listed in the recipe. Next time, I'll probably use a few less chocolate chips (just a little too much for me). Definitely give these a try if you love peanut butter and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States