Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I usually sprinkle white sugar on the top crust rather than brown. Depending on how juicy the apples are 1/2 cup flour might be just right or it could be a bit much, but I hate a watery pie, so I normally do use that much flour just to be sure. It is better to determine doneness by whether the juices have started to boil instead of the crust color. If it isn't boiling yet and the crust is getting too brown, put foil strips over the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have been making this pie according to Aunt Carol for 9 years or so and I thought it's about time to give it a rating. I have been able to make excellent pie dough for many years, but the apple filling in this pie is the very best. My brother-in-law has cautioned me so many times about arriving to their home without an apple pie and risking being locked out of the house. ;o) I will continue to make this recipe as written and I thank Jo Ann Taylor and Aunt Carol for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. It bakes up just nicely and the sugared top crust is just extra yummy. I was looking for a great apple pie recipe and I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2000
This is the best apple pie we have ever tasted. My husband doesn't like apple pie, but he's loves this one. My brother in law wanted only this pie for his birthday. Thank you Aunt Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great recipe, thanks for posting. I added vanilla and nutmeg like a few reviewers suggested. We ate it while still warm so it was pretty sloppy bit delicious anyway. I hope tomorrow it's set up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was my first apple pie ever. It was absolutely perfect, followed it exactly (my teenage son made the filling EASY PEASY!!!! and I made the crust ~ ) it was very simple and it tastes amazing. Perfect sweetness/tartness!!!! So good served warm with some real vanilla ice cream. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My first apple pie! I used 3 Granny Smith and 5 McIntosh, 3/4c white sugar, and 1/4 brown and it had just the right sweetness. Follow the recipe if using all Granny since they are so tart. The McIntosh gave it a little natural sweetness, and since they are very firm, did not get mushy. This is my go to apple pie recipe! Can't wait to make for Thanksgiving. I also used the Good Housekeeping pie crust recipe--it is very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was awesome! And not real hard to prepare. I saved time with store bought pastry. It disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
The most delicious and homey apple pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
i loved this pie and so did my family i'm 15 and i made it for thanksgiving and it turned out great i bought the dough to go over the top and i 1/2 the recipe but other than that i din't change a thing i give it a thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States