Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
So good. I used a variety of apples that I had on hand. I had no problem at all with it being watery like others mentioned. I also sprinkled the top with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar. It was a fabulous pie. Really good warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn Larrabee
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
this pie turned out awesome i used an egg wash on the pie crust and sprinkled sugar i only used 1/2 the white sugar and i added 1 tsp of nutmeg to the mix it came out beautifully i can wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Larrabee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Amazing. My first ever apple pie & came out better than I ever could have hoped! I used the recipe "Ruth's Grandma's pie crust" instead of a pre made dough. I also let the apples sit in the mixture in the fridge overnight, but that wasn't intended (I realized too late that I needed to borrow a pie plate) & as a result there was all this sugary syrup at the bottom of the bowl I just threw into the pie...it came out super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have not made Apple pie much as we don't typically like the spices ratio used in Apple pie recipes. However this one is delicious and all my family raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Oh, this never makes it more than a day at our house! lol Such a wonderful recipe! The only thing I do differently is add a touch of nutmeg! And, like alot of the other reviewers, I cut down on the sugar. Love this! Thank you Aunt Carol! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Love it -- been making it for years, but never reviewed. I don't mess with the free-flowing brown sugar; I combine and sift the dry stuff over the apples, stir to coat completely (adding vanilla) and then let set for 15 minutes or so. I brush my crust with milk (using a pastry brush) and then shake cinnamon sugar over. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
awesome!!!!! BEST APPLE PIE I've ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scurry, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Delicious pie! My only change was letting the cut and coated apples drain in a colander for about 45 minutes. That let the excess fluid drain off some before loading the crust with he fruit. Which made the second attempt much less runny & it set up much better than my 1st. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
delicious!!!even my husband who is not a fan of apple pie LOVED this pie.he ate the whole thing:/left me one slice.so good.follwed the recipe to a tea turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great recipe, thanks for posting. I added vanilla and nutmeg like a few reviewers suggested. We ate it while still warm so it was pretty sloppy bit delicious anyway. I hope tomorrow it's set up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States