Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
YUM!!! I've been making pie after pie tweaking things here and there trying to get it perfect. THIS IS IT!!! I used "regular" light brown sugar, added nutmeg, extra cinnamon and a dash of vanilla extract. I cheated and used a premade piecrust (pillsbury) but adding the sugar on top really made a differance. This really is the best apple pie i've ever eaten, let along made. Oh yes...i also pre-cooked the apples and mix on the stove before putting them in the pie. Thank you Aunt Carol!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toni lee
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I have not made an apple pie in years but decided to do so today because I wanted to use up some McIntosh apples before they went bad. I previously used my mother's apple pie recipe, which wasn't great (not an Italian specialty-smile). OMG!!! When I cut into this pie, I couldn't believe it! Could not believe that I made this pie! I used the Pillsbury Refrigerated Rolled Pie Crust (delicious) and followed the recipe to a near "t" with the following changes: I added 1/2 tsp of fresh grated nutmeg and 1 tsp of vanilla to the apple mixture, I baked the pie at 450 degrees for 15 minutes then 350 degrees for 55 minutes. Pie came out PERFECTLY!!!! Not too sweet, not gooey, not too wet or too dry, perfect mixture of sweet and spicy, tender & tasty apples, perfect crust! Absolutely wonderful! Can't wait for my dear husband to taste this tonight! Will definitely be making this pie again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is the best apple pie recipe. I have even forgotten to add the cinn. one time and it still turned out great. I use pillsbury rolled crust and I love adding the sugar to the top, it really makes the crust taste wonderful.(I usually don't eat the crust but I love this one) The only thing I do differently is I set the oven to 425 and cook for about 12 min at the beginning instead of the 450 for 15 min. The crust turns out purfect every time. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
good but a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
OMG! E-Z, perfectly delicious pie! As another suggested, I set the oven to 425 and cook for about 12 min at the beginning (instead of the 450 for 15 min.) Then 350 for 45 min as written, the crust was perfect, no burning. I also used 1/2 the brown sugar because I thought it would be too sweet. I also added the juice of 1 lemon. It turns out either way, would have been fine. It's a GREAT recipe, thanks Aunt Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful! Tried many recipes, made many pies and finally this is a keeper. Made my own crust. My Dad LOVED it and my husband ate it for breakfast! WOOOOOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I baked this pie for my husband and he told me it was "quite possibly the best apple pie" he'd ever tasted!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
beautiful presentation with the sugar on the crust, however, really gooey and sweet inside. apples stayed semi-crisp and was balanced by the very very sweet filling. it's good, but was too "wet" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious. I made this for thanksgiving and it got rave reviews. This will be my go-to apple pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The best apple pie ever!!! My dad has already put in an order for next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Natick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States