Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This filling was great! I've never made an apple pie before, I thought I was going to have to try mulitple recipes to find the perfect one, but this is the first one I tried and i'm not going to try another one. I used granny smith with a couple of fuji apples thrown in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOMBIETRASH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Very good. I cooked the apples slightly and strained the juice before putting in the crust as I don't like too much liquid in pies. The sugar on top of the pie crust worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Thank you for providing this recipe. This is the most delicious apple pie I have ever tasted. The only thing I did differently was reduce the white sugar to 3/4 cup. I did not have free-flowing brown sugar but used golden brown sugar and did what you advised and made sure it was without any clumps or lumps. The baking time was perfect. I used a clear glass dish, probably 10 inches, and used about 8 small/medium apples. After letting the pie cool for about 45 minutes, I gave a slice of this warm pie with vanilla ice cream on the side to my husband. He didn't say a word - he just kept nodding his head the entire time he was eating it and left no crumb on the plate! I brushed egg white on the top crust and it baked to a beautiful golden brown. Wow. I'm thinking of having another piece now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
My husband said he has never liked apple pie in his life before this one. Very delicious! Even my mother-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Made with Basic Flaky Pie Crust. Excellent!!! The filling was very quick, easy and quite yummy for a quick apple pie fix. This recipe will go into my recipe box for sure. Thanks! My husband really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I did'nt have time to make the crust,so I bought the ready-crust sold in the store. but basically,i used the filling ingredients in the recipe.And fairly,I can only comment on the fillings,it was briliante!but somehow, abit too sweet for my hubby.but was fine for me!therefore 5star granted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Great recipe - delicious apple pie!! Our guests would not stop talking about it - it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
MAGNIFICENT is the only way to describe this recipe. This was my first time making apple pie and it came out great. I forgot to add the extra butter in the filling and to sprinkle the sugar on top. It still came out great. My fiance absolutely loved it. Oh Yeah. I used buttermilk instead of water to make the crust and it was perfect. IF YOU LIKE APPLE PIE, YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This was a huge success. I didn't put the additional butter on top of the apple mixture and it didn't seem to make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was my first attempt at apple pie and it turned out great. Be sure to use Granny Smiths...they are just tart enough. The brown sugar gives the filling a great caramel taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States