Aunt Blanche's Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Choose this recipe!!! :) Trust me there is no better recipe out there then this! With a few changes to increase their healthy nature they are amazing! The first time I made these muffins I followed the recipe to a T, although after making it the third time I felt that they were becoming to sweet tasting, and I found they were a bit high in cals. So to make them into healthy blueberry muffins I substituted 1/4 of the butter with unsweetened applesauce, added wheat flour instead of the white (which is bad for the body), and I cut down on the sugar to 1 cup and less two tbsp. and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and it turned out great!!! Based on my backround in nutirtion I advise these substitutes!! anyway, its overall the best recipe in the world.....I have tried all the others on this site but this is "#1" :)*****(*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe tasted great, but wasn't quite what I was looking for. I now understand the "cake-like" reference - they come out dense, moist, and filling, not fluffy like I was looking for. They taste delicious, however. I only put a cup of sugar instead of 1 1/4 and it came out just right - I don't like my muffins to be super sweet. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, except that I reserved 1/4 of the flour to coat the blueberries so as to avoid them popping during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
THIS IS A WONDERFUL RECIPE. I MADE IT JUST THE WAY IT IS WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ADDING A TABLESPOON OF VANILLA, GIVE OR TAKE A LITTLE. IT MADE 30 AND IN LESS THAN 24-HRS THERE WERE ONLY 15 LEFT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE TO ANYONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
FABULOUS!!!!!! This is the best muffin ever!!! The top comes out lightly crunchy without having to make a special topping. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and added 1tsp of vanilla, and I cut the sugar to just 1cup, but I totally could have handled the entire amount....I have a raging sweet tooth, though. Even though I cut the sugar, that's not to say that these weren't sweet. They were absolutely decadent!!! I HIGHLY recommend making this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roanerangers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
These muffins are fantastic. I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a little more blueberries. I used frozen blueberries that I allowed to thaw. I also made a topping of; 1/2 C sugar, 1/3 C flour, 1/4 C butter and 1-1/2 t cinnamon and sprinkled on top before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
These muffins are FANTASTIC!!! I made them with cake flour and "fresh blueberries" that exploded in the muffin while it cooked, to make a wonderful cake-like muffin that is absolutly delicious!!! If you like blueberry muffins I suggest you try this recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
What a happy thing it turned out to be that I had so much extra topping left over from "Rhubarb and Strawberry Crunch." (I recommend that recipe highly too, by the way) If it wasn't for trying to find a use for that topping I wouldn't have tried these muffins today. They're not an old-fashioned muffin in the traditional sense mind you, more cake like...but darned good cake. I added a teaspoon of vanilla (cake should have vanilla, right?) but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I got eight Texas-sixed muffins, and I had enough of that wonderful brown sugar oatmeal topping for all of them. When/if I make these again I'll probably make them exactly the same way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These make a lovely thick batter. One little thing I did differently was to not completely fill up the milk measurement ad top it off with a little vanilla - we like vanilla in almost everything! :D This is my go-to recipe - they're not AMAAAZZZING but they are wonderful and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerpentinaSolis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I made these with sour cherries and used 1 cup flour, should have stuck to 1 1/4 cup. Very moist muffins, make sure to mix your berries with some of the flour before adding to the batter so they won't sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is a classic muffin recipe in its ratios of sugar, fat, egg, and flour. The generation of cake muffins that most people come to expect didnt come around until the advent of betty crocker muffin mixes. So yes, it is soft, and very simple in ingredients ie: no lemon, orange rind, spices, etc. It is a delightful recipe similar to one in my mothers 1919 cookbook. Two things to note: muffin papers didn't exist when muffins came about. They developed a nice brown crust in the iron and steel pans they were cooked in. Do yourself a favor and make a traditional muffin in the traditional way and enjoy the golden crust that held the muffin together. The last thing to note: muffin recipes use baking soda and that means they really bake best with higher heat. 425F is the magic number for muffins. First it sets the crust quickly which controls the "spread" and forces the muffin up into a pretty crown. The creation of mushroom shaped muffins is a modern thing. So crank up the oven to 425 when you make this recipe and they cook for about 12 minutes. By doing that you can have a muffin that is 2/3 full and have a nice crown. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States