Aunt Blanche's Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is the best muffin recipe I have ever come across. It makes more than 12 muffins however...more like 16 or so. I have used all types of different berries and it comes out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I don't know who Aunt Blanche is but she knows a good muffin. Never liked muffins with oil so this recpe suits us very well. It is a little heavy on sugar for our taste but cutting back by 1/4 of a cup works fine. Also, someone suggested cake flour and that would make them more like a cupcake - a good idea. Some lemon rind ups the flavor which is always good with blueberries. Please do not make too many changes to this recipe because it does not need them.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Just my experience (obviously a lot of folks got these to come out perfectly): The batter was SO stiff before adding the blueberries that I had to believe I'd used too much flour -- so I splashed in maybe another 1/4 milk to loosen it up a little. Probably as a result of that, they took forever to cook (over an hour), and came out very very brown on top and just barely done in the middle. So I'd suggest not worrying if the batter looks REALLY stiff before you add the blueberries. I had enough batter to fill 17 jumbo-size muffin cups, and a couple overflowed a little -- I'm baking the last 5 muffins now, and am not sure it's worth another hour of oven time. These are, I think, way too sweet -- UNTIL you get a mouthful with a blueberry, and then you need that sugar 'cuz my blueberries were sadly VERY tart. All in all -- too much work and mess for an unsatisfactory batch of muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Only added vanilla and more blueberries YUM! Thanks for a great recipe!! (I chose it because it's my mom's name) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is a classic muffin recipe in its ratios of sugar, fat, egg, and flour. The generation of cake muffins that most people come to expect didnt come around until the advent of betty crocker muffin mixes. So yes, it is soft, and very simple in ingredients ie: no lemon, orange rind, spices, etc. It is a delightful recipe similar to one in my mothers 1919 cookbook. Two things to note: muffin papers didn't exist when muffins came about. They developed a nice brown crust in the iron and steel pans they were cooked in. Do yourself a favor and make a traditional muffin in the traditional way and enjoy the golden crust that held the muffin together. The last thing to note: muffin recipes use baking soda and that means they really bake best with higher heat. 425F is the magic number for muffins. First it sets the crust quickly which controls the "spread" and forces the muffin up into a pretty crown. The creation of mushroom shaped muffins is a modern thing. So crank up the oven to 425 when you make this recipe and they cook for about 12 minutes. By doing that you can have a muffin that is 2/3 full and have a nice crown. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. They stuck to the paper liners and when I took them from the pan they crumbled all over. However, the flavor was good! But I have had better blueberry muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Thank you for sharing this recipe - it's wonderful! I've made these muffins a few times now. I just finished baking a double batch for visiting family who will be heading home on a plane today and one of the teens (who doesn't normally like blueberries) had 3 muffins in one sitting and then said he wanted to take a bunch home with him. Absolutely delicious and incredibly easy to make with basic ingredients. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
best blueberry muffins I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
really really good! i used frozen blueberries and they worked great. we're going to make with raspberries next. thanks Auntie Blanche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These are the BEST blueberry muffins ever! My husband and son ate 3 of them straight out of the oven! I did modify and add the 1 tsp of vanilla and they turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States