Aunt Blanche's Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
A little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were flavorless...essentially blueberry filled blandness. I'm not sure why they have such good reviews. Typically, the ingredients are listed in order of use also...it could mix someone up if they didn't read twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These make a lovely thick batter. One little thing I did differently was to not completely fill up the milk measurement ad top it off with a little vanilla - we like vanilla in almost everything! :D This is my go-to recipe - they're not AMAAAZZZING but they are wonderful and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerpentinaSolis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
these are exactly what i was looking for. fluffy, crumbly, and sweet. i doubled the recipe, so what happened to me might not be typical - the batter came out sort of like cookie dough instead of muffin batter, but i added 1 and 1/2 cups of milk and it was fine. they baked up perfectly and ill make these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hilaryellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is the best muffin recipe I have ever come across. It makes more than 12 muffins however...more like 16 or so. I have used all types of different berries and it comes out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I don't know who Aunt Blanche is but she knows a good muffin. Never liked muffins with oil so this recpe suits us very well. It is a little heavy on sugar for our taste but cutting back by 1/4 of a cup works fine. Also, someone suggested cake flour and that would make them more like a cupcake - a good idea. Some lemon rind ups the flavor which is always good with blueberries. Please do not make too many changes to this recipe because it does not need them.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Just my experience (obviously a lot of folks got these to come out perfectly): The batter was SO stiff before adding the blueberries that I had to believe I'd used too much flour -- so I splashed in maybe another 1/4 milk to loosen it up a little. Probably as a result of that, they took forever to cook (over an hour), and came out very very brown on top and just barely done in the middle. So I'd suggest not worrying if the batter looks REALLY stiff before you add the blueberries. I had enough batter to fill 17 jumbo-size muffin cups, and a couple overflowed a little -- I'm baking the last 5 muffins now, and am not sure it's worth another hour of oven time. These are, I think, way too sweet -- UNTIL you get a mouthful with a blueberry, and then you need that sugar 'cuz my blueberries were sadly VERY tart. All in all -- too much work and mess for an unsatisfactory batch of muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Only added vanilla and more blueberries YUM! Thanks for a great recipe!! (I chose it because it's my mom's name) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is a classic muffin recipe in its ratios of sugar, fat, egg, and flour. The generation of cake muffins that most people come to expect didnt come around until the advent of betty crocker muffin mixes. So yes, it is soft, and very simple in ingredients ie: no lemon, orange rind, spices, etc. It is a delightful recipe similar to one in my mothers 1919 cookbook. Two things to note: muffin papers didn't exist when muffins came about. They developed a nice brown crust in the iron and steel pans they were cooked in. Do yourself a favor and make a traditional muffin in the traditional way and enjoy the golden crust that held the muffin together. The last thing to note: muffin recipes use baking soda and that means they really bake best with higher heat. 425F is the magic number for muffins. First it sets the crust quickly which controls the "spread" and forces the muffin up into a pretty crown. The creation of mushroom shaped muffins is a modern thing. So crank up the oven to 425 when you make this recipe and they cook for about 12 minutes. By doing that you can have a muffin that is 2/3 full and have a nice crown. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. They stuck to the paper liners and when I took them from the pan they crumbled all over. However, the flavor was good! But I have had better blueberry muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States