Aunt Bev's Glorified Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Great sandwich! It was a nice nice from regular grilled cheese. The only thing I did different was to thin the egg mixture out with a bit of milk and to use light mayo and light Swiss cheese. Other than that it was perfect with tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were great, we did sub the swiss for provolone and havarti cheese. Thanks for the post. I wanted to update this review 08/21/06 only because we tried this for breakfast and used cheddar and american cheese with the ham. I used the texas toast bread, and added hard eggs to the sandwich. My husband preferred his open faced with the ham, cheese then an egg over easy to top his off. Yummy Yummy Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Awesome! Thanks to Aunt Bev! The only thing I changed, because it didn't need any change is the Swiss, I changed it to baby swiss which is milder. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, I wish I thought of myself! 5 stars! P.S. My 3 (ages 5-12) very picky Grandchildren, that don't even like grilled cheese, LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CiaoAmica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
mmmmmmmmmm very good. I used provolone instead of swiss cause that is what I had. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Yummy and Easy. I used cheddar (didn't have swiss) and added a bit of milk to the egg. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
These are really great sandwiches! Thanks for the post! However, they aren't for someone on a diet! I didn't have any Italian bread so I just used white bread & added a touch of oregano to the egg mixture. I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard because I didn't have any & I cut it down to only 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a great sandwich. Very filling. I used whole grain white instead of the Italian, since I didn't have that on hand. Wow, filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I noticed this as I was doing the photo voting and thought it sounded really good for lunch, therefore, I made it right away. I loved the flavor of this recipe. I don't know if the egg wash is absolutely necessary and I may omit it next time just to see the difference. I will be making this again often for my lunch. It was a nice way of doing something different with my usual ham and cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Excellent! Another twist that an old friend used to make for me I would have considered glorified AND sinful... load just about every kind of white cheese imagineable on the bread in addition to tomatoes. Cream cheese, mozzarella, provolone, swiss, you name it. Simply delicious! Melisa Morris http://www.awomantoldme.com/article.aspx?id=e970641e-c737-473a-be72-e741f7f2e4ef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States