Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I added brown sugar like others suggested, But the filling was a bit thick. Next time I will use a little more butter to think it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly  Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Fabulous. I also sprinkled the bottom with flour and painted the top with eggs yolk and sugar. On the inside I added cut up pieces of caramel candies. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelouiseanna
Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I just made this wonderful pie. Only alteration I did was 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white instead of all white sugar. We all LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I read other reviews about it being too runny. I thought it was perfect. I think they had to let it cool more. If you cut it when it is too warm from the oven, it will be runny. Let it cool for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsReimers
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The pie was great! My family loved it! So I will be using this recipe again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I'm only giving this four stars because I took alot of hints from other reviews. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar, and used a little less on the cinnamon, used 5 tbs of flour excluded the salt, added a small amount of vanilla extract, and lemon zest. I also brushed the crust's w egg whites and sprinkled the top pie crust w white sugar. Doing all of that, my pie turned out GREAT! I used mostly granny smith apples and it's tartness paired so well with all that sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BayaBaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was tasty, but pie crusts are difficult. Mine didn't cook all the way through on the bottom middle before the top started to look charred. I think there are tips somewhere for preventing that, but the tinfoil on the edges didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This pie was filled amazing! Thank you "Wick of Twizt" for your review because I used your version to have a crispy, non-runny/soggy crust. The only thing that I did different was the sugar because I didn't have very much... 1/2 C. White Sugar 1/2 C. Brown Sugar 4 tablespoons of Flour Egg whites: spread on the bottom for crispy crust and on the top crust to achieve a beautiful golden carmel color Bakeware Tip: Pampered Chef makes a pie crust shield only for $7.50. It works great and prevents over cooking the edges of any pie crust! To view the product copy and past the link that is listed below. http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/prod_details.tpc?prodId=7928&catId=122&parentCatId=122&outletSubCat=&viewAllOutlet=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Simple, fresh, entirely and wonderfully edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Kraus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States