Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
For my first time making apple pie this recipe was easy and my pie came out great I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I can't say this was the best pie I've tasted. I think the nutmeg was too overwhelming and I wish I had omitted it or cut it down to 1/8 tsp. My husband said it tasted like Christmas and my son said it was like potpourri. Cooking time was accurate and apples came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Loved this recipe. I used granny smith apples and it had a great taste. My bottom crust was soggy, but to avoid this you can dust the bottom crust with flour before putting in the filling. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
OK recipe, after tweeking. This was my first time baking a pie and I wanted to surprise my hubby with his favorite. I followed this recipe to the "T", but I used a store-bought crust. I surpised him alright...with runny filling and under cooked apples! What a sloppy mess! I was disappointed and embarassed because I read every review before choosing this recipe. There is a happy ending though...I put the pie back in the oven for another hour and 15 minutes (covered the crust with foil), and then I put it in the fridge overnight and finally this morning...Aunt Bev's apple pie! Beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
My first time baking a pie, and as simple and good as this recipe was, it was no problem. Wonderful recipe for a simple, grandmother-style apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was the tastiest apple pie i have ever made, everyone had to have second helpings, i will be making this pie lots of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: ???, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Simply Fabulous! A great apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
A great apple pie - smelled delicious while baking. My pie pan must be smaller than most because I only managed to fit four apples in there, and even so it was towering! I halved the sugar but used the same amount of flour and, perhaps as a result, had no problem with runniness. My only complaint is that the lower crust was a little soggy. Next time I'll bake it on its own for a few minutes before adding the filling and upper crust, which is what I normally do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving - it was very easy and and qutie tasty. Every loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I made this for my dad's birthday rather than cake. He said the taste was great but it was a little runny. I used Granny Smith apples. I will try it again but with a different apple and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States