Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made my first pie ever yesterday, using this recipe for the filling. It turned out great and everyone really liked it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Yummy!Tart apples are the only ones that should be in a pie. I used granny smiths and the sweetness/tartness was perfect. Mine was a little runny and was the last time I made this also. Next time I'll add a bit more flour. Flavor is excellent though. Use the baker's secret pie crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
very yummy and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was so easy. This was one of my first pies and it turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is a great recipe, so easy. It has become the 'apple pie recipe' we use for the holidays. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great recipe! This was my first attempt at an apple pie and it turned out delicious! I used granny smith apples and sliced them somewhat thin. I used the recommended cook time and it came out great! This was a great treat at our Thanskgiving. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is *perfect*. Toward the end, I brush the top crust with melted butter and add a little cinnamon sugar. Thank you so much for this delicious apple pie recipe...I will never look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbphilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This apple pie always gets rave reviews - I love to try new recipies on your website and this recipe is one I keep coming back to! You can always switch it up a little by adding more cinnamon, and sometimes depending on what type of apples I am using - I cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I made my own shortcrust pastry and made these into small individual pies using a bun tray. I cooked them for about 2 minutes and they came out perfect. I love the cinnamon and nutmeg taste and how the apple still holds it's form, but is soft when you bite into it. Just sweet enough but retaining a little tartness -perfect. I used 1 bramley apple (they're massive) instead of 7 tart apples and it made 15 small pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Excellent pie!! It was my first attempt at an apple pie. My husband loved it. Since I have tasted apple pies in the past that were watery, I didn't want that to happen with mine, so I did add 2 tbsp of tapioca. It turned out perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States