Aunt Betty's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I needed 1 cup of French dressing for another recipe and didn't have any in the fridge. I found this, tried it, and LOVED it. I used it in my recipe and on my salad for lunch today. I used cider vinegar and whirled it in the blender until completely smooth....I was really happy with its thick consistency. It took about 5 minutes from start to finish and is better than ANY bottled version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Ok, let me just say before I start, I find it irritating when people don't follow the recipe exactly and then rate that recipe based on the results of their tampered with creation. On that note I followed this recipe to the "T" and it was o.k., a little to ketchup-y for me. My son liked it. . . as a stand in for ketchup on the side of his steak, he is four:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is awesome!! I use homemade red wine in place of the red-wine vinegar, and you're right it is fantastic that way. Thanks for sharing. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly...no changes whatsoever. I will have to keep looking. This dressing is okay, but WAAAAYYYY to vinegary. As in that's all I taste. I will try again with a different vinegar, but for now, this one is just "ehh"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This recipe is really good, but I found it was very vinegar-y. I made exactly the way it is written and used Red Wine vinegar instead of the white vinegar. I ended up having to add about twice the amount of ketchup to offset the flavor of the vinegar though. I will probably half the vinegar next time, but was very impressed overall!! This was the first time I made homemade salad dressing and am in awe as to why I have been buying it all these years!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This french dressing is really good. My wife likes it too. Like another reviewer said, why buy dressing when you can make this great dressing so easily?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I'm off today, so inbetween cooking, I'm trying to catch up on my reviews. (the kids monopolize the computer) I made this dressing two weeks ago which I actually used, with a packet of onion soup mix as a marinade for chicken pieces. It was delicious! So much cheaper to make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Thanks Maggie... Fabulous... Tastes great, looks great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Just what I was looking for, a quick and easy french dressing just like my mom used to make. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States