Aunt Betty's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
It was 10 minutes before dinner and I realized I had no dressing for my salad. I quickly found this recipe - it took no time to make and it was great! I think it would've been even better if I'd let it sit in the fridge for a while beforehand, but I needed it ASAP. Everyone loved the dressing and my husband said he preferred this recipe over the store-bought stuff. A blessing in disguise that I ran out of dressing, or I probably wouldn't have found this recipe. Thanks - I will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I thought this was very good. Next time I'm going to try half honey for the sugar. I was out of worcestershire so I subbed steak sauce - turned out perfectly! So easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this recipe just like it said. It was not good at all. I have another recipe that is similar to this one that calls for equal amounts of ketchup and sugar. This makes it take like French dressing not just ketchup and vinegar. Try adding the sugar it is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a good recipe. I found that the ketchup makes a huge difference in the finished product. Our favorite is Kroger's PS Organic. Also, I use less sugar than the recipe calls for and onion powder rather than fresh onion. A standard on our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
My husband challenged me to find a good French dressing after reading what's in the store-bought stuff and I looked here first. According to him (I'm not a French dressing fan) it's better than store-bought although next time he asked me to use less sugar (I halved the recipe but it still called for a lot of sugar). I was pleased I had everything in my pantry! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
It's always nice to have a homemade dressing on a fresh salad. It was delicious as is! Thanks Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is the best dressing Ive ever tasted. When I made it I used red onion instead. This will make everyone eat their salad!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Nice recipe. I doubled everything except vinegar and sugar (used about 1 cup). It was still a little to sweet for my taste, so I added a dash of cayenne pepper, more Worcestershire and some onion powder. Next time I will only use 1/2 cup sugar and add if more is needed in a double batch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I used red wine vinegar because that is what I had in the house and loved it. This was sooo easy and tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
used 1/4 c. white wine vinegar instead of 1/2 and it was delicious! everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States