Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great tasting and great textured cake. I was nervous when it was so thin as I poured it into the pan, but it came out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I have used this recipe so many times and have yet for it to NOT turn out! Very moist and full of vanilla flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe was easy to follow and tasted just like a cake my Grandma would have baked for me. Thank you so much for this recipe. I appreciate Intelligent women who share a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCernoch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
ok... now this recipe looked interesting. I saw an old recipe, and thought immediately of an older lady at an older stove cooking something that would bring me back to loving childhood memories and delicious cake. So i quickly got out my mixing bowls and got to work. I also took notice of the extra tips and helpful hints from reviews and ratings thinking that would make my cake all the better, NOT A CHANCE!! This is by far the worst recipe i have seen and will never suggest it to another living being. How anyone ever got a cake out of this is pretty darn surprising to me. Thanks but no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
After reading some of the reviews, I added around 2 tbsp. of vegetable oil to the batter before cooking and it turned out really yummy. Not dry, no resemblance to corn bread. I put a caramel frosting on it and it's super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Loved the taste of the cake. I made on small mistake when I did not take the cakes out of the pans quick enough, they stuck! And I was making a b-day cake for a party that started in 2 hrs. I tried to mush the broken off parts pack on and then I covered in alot of icing. Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This tasted ok but was so dry, even when fresh out of the oven. The next day I threw the rest away it had the consistancy of tough dry cornbread. Sorry, not a keeper for this cake baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This cake is great, but there are a couple things that should be changed in the order of the directions. Don't mix the baking soda and buttermilk to start with. Cream the shortening, sugar, ect. first. Then you hold a small bowl with the buttermilk and baking soda over the bowl with the creamed mixture in it and beat as it will foam and may foam over the bowl. Pour that mixture immediately into the creamed mixture. Then continue with the directions as stated. This will make the cake a little more moist for those who think that it is a little bit dry. This recipe, no doubt, started out with the buttermilk as sourmilk. You use the same amount of sourmilk as you do buttermilk. To make sourmilk, use the 1/2 cup regular milk and add 1 tablespoon vinegar and mix well. Allow to set while creaming your ingredients, then follow the steps above and you will have a more flavorful, moist cake. These little bits I have given you have been left out as it has been passed around through generations of bakers. I hope these extra tips help you out. Thanks. The recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I made this into a very good orange cake by adding the juice and zest of one orange to the cake and icing it with cream cheese icing that included 3 tbsp orange marmelade. It was moist, delicious, and very popular. I found that this cake does not rise very high, but if it is not overbaked it makes a nice moist cake that cuts very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This recipe makes a yellow cake--not a white cake--because it uses egg yolks rather than whole eggs. That said, the cake was moist and dense, but uninspiring. We ate it, it was fine, but I'll try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States