Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
After reading some of the reviews, I added around 2 tbsp. of vegetable oil to the batter before cooking and it turned out really yummy. Not dry, no resemblance to corn bread. I put a caramel frosting on it and it's super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Loved the taste of the cake. I made on small mistake when I did not take the cakes out of the pans quick enough, they stuck! And I was making a b-day cake for a party that started in 2 hrs. I tried to mush the broken off parts pack on and then I covered in alot of icing. Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This tasted ok but was so dry, even when fresh out of the oven. The next day I threw the rest away it had the consistancy of tough dry cornbread. Sorry, not a keeper for this cake baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This cake is great, but there are a couple things that should be changed in the order of the directions. Don't mix the baking soda and buttermilk to start with. Cream the shortening, sugar, ect. first. Then you hold a small bowl with the buttermilk and baking soda over the bowl with the creamed mixture in it and beat as it will foam and may foam over the bowl. Pour that mixture immediately into the creamed mixture. Then continue with the directions as stated. This will make the cake a little more moist for those who think that it is a little bit dry. This recipe, no doubt, started out with the buttermilk as sourmilk. You use the same amount of sourmilk as you do buttermilk. To make sourmilk, use the 1/2 cup regular milk and add 1 tablespoon vinegar and mix well. Allow to set while creaming your ingredients, then follow the steps above and you will have a more flavorful, moist cake. These little bits I have given you have been left out as it has been passed around through generations of bakers. I hope these extra tips help you out. Thanks. The recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I made this into a very good orange cake by adding the juice and zest of one orange to the cake and icing it with cream cheese icing that included 3 tbsp orange marmelade. It was moist, delicious, and very popular. I found that this cake does not rise very high, but if it is not overbaked it makes a nice moist cake that cuts very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This recipe makes a yellow cake--not a white cake--because it uses egg yolks rather than whole eggs. That said, the cake was moist and dense, but uninspiring. We ate it, it was fine, but I'll try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I'll have to agree with one of the other reviews that this cake resembled sweetened cornbread. Although, people in my family seem to like that taste, as it disappeared in about two days. I'll probably make it once in awhile for school and work lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Needed a quick recipe for white cake. Found this one and tried it, as promised, quick and very good too. I used some special recipe make of brandy to wet the cake and made it very moist. It tasted delicious. Thanks for the recipe. :) Jay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Not very good. Too dry and not very tasty. Holds its shape very well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was a very good cake, although just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States