Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I had to readjust the recipe and change some ingredients but the end result was beyond perfection. I am not sure if the original recipe is good because I usually readjust all the recipes I find but try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as instructed and it was dense and rubbery. I checked the oven temperature with a thermometer and it was accurate. The leavening (baking powder & baking soda) has not expired and works fine in other recipes so I have NO IDEA what went wrong. How anyone can get this recipe to work is a mystery to me. I gave it two stars instead of one because if you pretend it's a vanilla brownie and ignore the strange texture it tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This cake came out like bread pudding. Soggy, stodgy, heavy yck. I made the cake last night cutting the sugar in half and adding the pudding mix and 2 T canola oil as others had described doing. I don't know how others got such good results. No one could eat it and it was for a birthday. boo hoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toutsuite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly. I was a little nervous because the batter seemed a bit runny. However, the end result was delicious. Instead of making a cake, I made cupcakes and iced them with "Chocolate Frosting III." I made them for both my husband and I to bring to work, and they were devoured! Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I added a box of instant vanilla pudding and decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup like someone suggested earlier. I also added 2T canola oil. This was the most moist cake I have ever eaten...this is the 3rd time I have baked it this week. Everyone at work is crazy for it. I use a cooked fudge chocolate icing for the cake. Also..people who say it is dry: check your cake after 20 min! Mine is usually done by then. Thank you for posting this recipie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliandPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I followed the first review of this recipe, adding a pack of pudding mix and 2 T of vegetable oil, and the cake is GREAT! It did turn out yellow, not white, but it's wonderfully moist and delicious. Plus, you can pick which flavor pudding to add to slightly flavor the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Barger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Love this recipe! Of course, I made modifications as I almost usually do. I cut the sugar back by half a cup and added a package of french vanilla pudding mix to the dry ingredients. This makes the cake incredibly moist. This may also help take away from the 'cornbread-like' texture that some people are experiencing with their cakes. I also add about 2 T. of canola oil which also adds to the moisture of the cake. I just use two whole eggs to simplify things and not waste any egg. The cake is more yellow then white, but I think the flavor is richer and better. To the wet ingredients I also add a tablespoon of fresh lemon zest. Gives the cake a great boost of flavor without being overly 'lemony.' I frost the cake, which I bake in 3 8" pans to make a triple layer sensation, with vanilla Rich's BetterCream, which you could also add a little lemon extract to as well. I then drizzle with melted chocoate and everyone gobbles it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL CAKE! u know i was kind of scared of what it was going to taste like, sence i didn't have vanilla extract i added lemon and it tasted really really really good. This batter came out perfect and the cake when it came out of the oven wasnt all pretty like a box cake would be, But once i put the cream cheese frosting .. it was WONDERFUL! , i only put 2 eggs because i was running out of eggs and it came out perfect. Definitly try it with cream cheese icing.. and again i put lemon attrect in that too, cause i didnt have vanilla and came out just perfect. .. DEFINITLY TRY THIS CAKE! u cant screw it up !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great tasting and great textured cake. I was nervous when it was so thin as I poured it into the pan, but it came out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I have used this recipe so many times and have yet for it to NOT turn out! Very moist and full of vanilla flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States