Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe the cake never rose. I mixed the baking soda and buttermilk after I finished creaming the shortening mixture and then immediately poured it in. I don't think that the baking soda had enough time to react. I also tried it with the 3 eggs and an egg white. It seemed really eggy tasting. The cake came out the best when I followed the recipe exactly, but cut back on the sugar to 1 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very nice cake. Not sure what the drama is some are having with the thin batter. I always like hot water batters since they are sure to turn out.The allow for maximum raise. I added 1 cup of coconut and used 4 egg whites and it was a nice moist cake. As a rule,scratch cakes are heavier than box...but scratch cakes are "real" anyway!...right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I must of done something terribly wrong, I will try this recipe one more time, maybe read more of the reviews and try some suggestions. I tryed makeing a home make whit cake years ago and had the same kind of results. Yet home make cohcolate cakes work every time for me, humm. But like I said, so many great reviews I will try this 1 more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This cake turned out very moist and tasted great. I used the White Cake Frosting I recipe for the frosting. I made for a very delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I made this cake after reading all of the comments , good and bad . This is the nicest cake I've tasted in a very long time. I sell cakes from my home and needed a recipe for a "real" homeade cake and that's how I found this one. I couldn't wait for it to cool so I could frost and cut it for a taste. I don't know what's been happening to those of you that were disappointed when you tried this recipe, but it turned out excellent for me. I did make a couple changes though, I put in 3 whole eggs and one egg white, and two teaspoons of vanilla . ( my experience has been that cakes made from scratch need more whites than yolks and double flavoring for some odd reason when the recipe calls for water instead of milk. I don't know if these two changes made the differece for me, but it is truly a lovely , light texture cake. Please try at least once and perhaps if you didn't have good results the first time, I'd give it another try .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missygail
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe. I made a couple of suggestions that other people have made. I added 4 whole eggs instead of three yolks and an egg. I also added one box of french vanilla pudding and 2T canola oil. This had an amazing flavor and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ToniB
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is super recipe. It tastes really different. Quite dense cake and not especially sweet. My in-laws said it was the best cake they had in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToniB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caryn
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake turned out so delicious it did not last long at all! I used the suggestion to use sour milk (milk+ vinegar) instead of buttermilk and i think the sour milk caused the cake to be lighter than it would have been otherwise. It was not light and fluffy but yummy and dense almost like pound cake consistency but very moist and unlike some of the other reviewers, my cake came out completely white not yellowish. Good luck with this one it is yummy and tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I love this cake. It is so sweet I never frost it. All I do is sprinkle powdered sugar all over the top and it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly and the cake did not rise. The cake tastes ok but it is flat. Not even worth frosting. With all of the leavening in this cake it should have risen. Maybe the yolks should be whites. I am not going to experiment to get this cake to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States