Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Love, Love, Love this recipe. Moist, delicious white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I love white cake, it is my Favorite and this just didn't even come close to being what I was hoping it would be! The 3 egg yolks make it more yellow then white and it just didn't thrill me with flavor. Sorry aunt bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I followed some of the other suggestions, and used 2 whole eggs and 2 egg yolks, and instead of using butter milk used sour milk made by 1/2 cup of milk with 1 tbsp of vinegar. Cakes turned out v ery good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinglebottom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Absolutley delicous! I was so proud of myself and so was my family. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. It was light,moist and tasted like a old fashioned vanilla cake. I paired it with hershey's classic chocolate frosting. The batter looks watery but it works, I wouldn't use a springform pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This cake is excellent in terms of being moist and flavor full but it is an extremely dense cake with more of a sponge texture. I' not a fan of the density of the cake but I love the favor. I've made this cake as a cupcakes which it is far better as cupcakes then a cake! Today I made this cake and I completely FORGOT to add the vanilla but the cake came out delish anyways even without the vanilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought this recipe is great. I just made it and it awesome. It does look a little more yellow than white but the taste is great. I only made to changes, I used sour milk instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any and I used 2 teaspoons vanilla because I love vanilla. I didn't have any problems and I am a beginner at this baking stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltnashatka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I'd really like to know why this cake seems to be either a complete hit, or a complete miss -- mine was a miss. I only substituted equivalent egg whites for the egg yolks, because I wanted a white cake. It was flat and way too sweet. Had to throw it out and make another (different recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I am not a good baker at all but I made cupcakes with this recipe and they turned out awesome! Super moist, great texture and flavor. I did use 2 whole eggs and added a packet of vanilla pudding. Can't wait to try different variations with different flavors of pudding. For cupcakes I baked for 20 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe the cake never rose. I mixed the baking soda and buttermilk after I finished creaming the shortening mixture and then immediately poured it in. I don't think that the baking soda had enough time to react. I also tried it with the 3 eggs and an egg white. It seemed really eggy tasting. The cake came out the best when I followed the recipe exactly, but cut back on the sugar to 1 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very nice cake. Not sure what the drama is some are having with the thin batter. I always like hot water batters since they are sure to turn out.The allow for maximum raise. I added 1 cup of coconut and used 4 egg whites and it was a nice moist cake. As a rule,scratch cakes are heavier than box...but scratch cakes are "real" anyway!...right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States