Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is the best cake I've ever made. I took the advice of a few other reviewers and used milk and vinegar for sour milk instead of buttermilk. I also used 3 whole eggs and one egg white, and 2 tsp of vanilla instead of one. Oh, and for some reason I didn't notice the 1/2 tsp salt on my phone as I was making it, so I mistakenly left that out. Everything else I left the same. I didn't think it would turn out well because the batter was really thin, but it ended up being the best cake I've ever made. I frosted it with butter cream frosting- 1 cup butter, 1lb confection sugar, 1 Tbsp milk, 1 Tbsp meringue powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It wasn't as I expected. Like some reviews I got a yellow cake. I thought it would be soft white cake.. not so. Its a bit too heavy and sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a nice, light and spongy cake with a very good flavor. The only thing I did differently was to use 4 whole eggs, rather than one egg and 3 egg yolks, simply because I didn't want to waste the whites. I followed the advice of another cook and frosted with the buttermilk sauce recipe on the Old-Fashioned Apple Cake recipe on this site. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The cake was very, VERY dense and had an overwhelming flour tast, and was almost rubbery. I was looking for a new recipe for my cake business and this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It is a great recipe! Works perfect! My family love it. Super moist! I just made a few changes: I substituted 1/4 cup shortening for 1/4 cup vegetable oil. I used 3 whole eggs and 2 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and only 1 1/2 cup of Sugar. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A great cake recipe. I didn't have buttermilk, or even regular milk, so I replaced the buttermilk with 1/2 cup coconut milk combined with a tablespoon of lemon juice. I only used 3/4 a cup of water, and I used water that was just very hot out of the tap. I also added about a cup of coconut flakes and an extra quarter cup of flour, because the batter felt quite runny. I also baked it as cupcakes... it baked for about 18-20 minutes and they came out nearly perfect. An absolutely wonderful recipe that's quite versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The stars are wrong. How could anyone give this 5 stars. first of all, there is no way to get a WHITE cake using 4 egg yolks. The photo cannot be of this cake. The recipe is written haphazardly, the ingredients are in no particular order. I had to keep checking and rechecking to be sure that I had not missed anything. This was intended for a birthday, it went in the trash. The cake is flat and grainy with an overwhelming eggy taste. I reminded me of cornbread. The top was crunchy. Even when topped with cream cheese frosting we could not eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
The cake tasted really good. The cake was not white, and it completly fell apart. I have never had a cake fall apart on me like this one. And it wasn't white!!!! I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Very good and moist, would use double the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe, but the cake turned out dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States