Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Not very good. Too dry and not very tasty. Holds its shape very well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was a very good cake, although just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
yay finally a cake for pple who hate to bake. So easy to make and yummiyum. the batter is great. tastes gooooooood. Everyone loved it it just disapeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
What an incredible cake! I've made this cake recipe for three different gatherings ... it disappears fast and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is a super delicious cake. Very, very moist. I have served it a couple of times to several different people, all with rave reviews! I will definitely make this cake again and throw out all my other white cake recipes. I highly recommend! Thanks Aunt Bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I made this recipe yesterday and i love the texture,very moist and the sour cream frosting was great...Only one problem,the cake turned the color of gingerbread and i actually can't figure out what it taste like.Strangely enough,i actually liked it,will i make it again?Probably not,but i'll make that cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I used this recipe to make my daughter a Barbie Doll Cake for her 3rd birthday. Everyone was very impressed by the way the cake looked and once they tasted it they couldn't stop. Thanks Aunt Bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
What a disappointment! I thought, surely with all those great comments this had to be a wonderful cake. The batter tasted great, but this cake was terrible. I had to toss the whole thing in the trash because noone at my house would eat it. What a waste of food, and a big let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I do lots of baking , was searching for different basic cake recipe . I tried this recipe , followed the directions to letter . This is a wonderful cake recipe . I have baked this , and frosted with homemade creamcheese frosting . And also used this recipe to bake a pineapple upside down cake in bunt pan .Aunt Bert would be proud !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I have tried 23 other recipes.. I was looking for an old fashioned cake.. this is the BEST cake ever. I served it to three different gentlemen friends and they all raved about it. They all said it was just like the one their grandma or mom made when they were little. This cake is dense and has an excellent taste and texture.. I will NOT look for another recipe.. This is the best.. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States