Aunt Anne's Sesame Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Diane, you've won my heart!! I've loved these cookies since I was little and was so thrilled to find this recipe to add to my Christmas cookie collection. They're amazing! The amount of anise extract is perfect. One reviewer said that her little logs got huge. Mine turned out fine but maybe it's because I make all of my doughs the day before so my cookies go into the oven a bit chilled from being refridgerated all night. I can't thank you enough Diane for submitting this wonderful recipe! Happy Holidays to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Outstanding little cookie, great with coffee. Just a note on saving money. If you have an Asian market nearby, buy the sesame seeds there at 80% less than the normal grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Very good. 2 tsp seemed like a lot of anise extract so I used only 1 tsp. It was subtle. I'll try 1.5 tsp the next time and see. I used 5 oz of sesame seeds. Diane, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
As the baker of the family, I was requested to bring Italian cookies to my Italian in-laws for Mother's Day. Yikes! However, I was told that these cookies tasted just like the ones from the Italian bakery. Success! My one recommendation would be to buy the sesame seeds in bulk so that they are cheaper. I used almost two full spice bottles from the grocery, and that was not inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I used raw seeds and since it was not specified I did not toast them first, when the cookies came out of the oven the seeds were very golden brown so I thought, "ok if I had toasted them first they would be over done." I wish the recipe would specify if the seeds should be toasted first or not. I also used vanilla extract instead. I had to change my opinion about these cookies after a few days, I tasted these again and they are delicious, I stand corrected, this is a very good recipe for this type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
TRIED THIS RECIPE AS A NEW ADDITION TO MY X-MAS COOKIE TRAYS. VERY WELL RECEIVED BY ALL. I FAVORED THEM AS THEY'RE NOT OVERLY SWEET & I ADORE THE NUTTY CRUNCH OF THE SESAME SEEDS. CERTAINLY WON'T BE WAITNG FOR X-MAS BEFORE MAKING AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Wow. Awesome cookie! I toasted the seeds at 350 for 10 mins. Watch them closely to be sure they don't burn. I added 2tbs of Ground anise seed. You can buy ground anise seed and crushed anise seed online at Penzeys Spices. Thank you for posting this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
These are YUMMY!, I married into an Italian family who always made sesame cookies for Christmas. My mother in law is 85 now and doesn't bake much anymore. I made these cookies for the extended family last Christmas and they were a big hit. Better then the cookies my mother in law used to bake. I love them and took to eating them for breakfast with a nice cup of coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Thank you! Reminds me of my childhood, and the special christmas cookies we would buy at the Italian Bakery. My family loves them. Recipe is easy with consistant results. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
good for this type of cookie. its not my favorite (not very sweet) but a very good dunking cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States