Aunt Anne's Sesame Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Outstanding little cookie, great with coffee. Just a note on saving money. If you have an Asian market nearby, buy the sesame seeds there at 80% less than the normal grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
TRIED THIS RECIPE AS A NEW ADDITION TO MY X-MAS COOKIE TRAYS. VERY WELL RECEIVED BY ALL. I FAVORED THEM AS THEY'RE NOT OVERLY SWEET & I ADORE THE NUTTY CRUNCH OF THE SESAME SEEDS. CERTAINLY WON'T BE WAITNG FOR X-MAS BEFORE MAKING AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I used raw seeds and since it was not specified I did not toast them first, when the cookies came out of the oven the seeds were very golden brown so I thought, "ok if I had toasted them first they would be over done." I wish the recipe would specify if the seeds should be toasted first or not. I also used vanilla extract instead. I had to change my opinion about these cookies after a few days, I tasted these again and they are delicious, I stand corrected, this is a very good recipe for this type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Diane, you've won my heart!! I've loved these cookies since I was little and was so thrilled to find this recipe to add to my Christmas cookie collection. They're amazing! The amount of anise extract is perfect. One reviewer said that her little logs got huge. Mine turned out fine but maybe it's because I make all of my doughs the day before so my cookies go into the oven a bit chilled from being refridgerated all night. I can't thank you enough Diane for submitting this wonderful recipe! Happy Holidays to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
As the baker of the family, I was requested to bring Italian cookies to my Italian in-laws for Mother's Day. Yikes! However, I was told that these cookies tasted just like the ones from the Italian bakery. Success! My one recommendation would be to buy the sesame seeds in bulk so that they are cheaper. I used almost two full spice bottles from the grocery, and that was not inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Very good. 2 tsp seemed like a lot of anise extract so I used only 1 tsp. It was subtle. I'll try 1.5 tsp the next time and see. I used 5 oz of sesame seeds. Diane, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
These were a lot of work. My "logs" kept getting bigger and bigger. When I took them out of the oven they seemed grossly undercooked. So I put them back in for what was apparantly too long.... although they didn't appear brown they were now as hard a logs. Nobody really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Thank you, thank you to the person who posted this recipe! When I was a little girl, my grandmother's neighbor made these same cookies. They are wonderful, and the recipe is perfect...they are just as I remembered. I highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
These were so tasty! I don't usually enjoy anise-flavored cookies so much, but these were really great =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Wow! My search has ended, too! I got some sesame seeds from our local bagel shop (he gave them to me already toasted) and they made all the difference in the world! Absolutely the hit of my Holiday cookie tray! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States