Aunt Anne's Sesame Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for the first time last year & I couldn't seem to make enough of them. They were met with rave reviews from all tasters. I now make double batches each time I bake. I need to make them all year round. They are truly a crowd pleaser. So easy & since they don't spread much, you can bake a lot at one time. Great time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe. I just used 1/4 tsp. of anise extract because my family likes the flavor more subtle. I make these cookies several times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I have only had these made by Stella Doro, these are fabulous! If you love sesame seed, you have to try these. A true memory of my childhood raised in an Italian family. Thank you Aunt Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
good for this type of cookie. its not my favorite (not very sweet) but a very good dunking cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Thank you! Reminds me of my childhood, and the special christmas cookies we would buy at the Italian Bakery. My family loves them. Recipe is easy with consistant results. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
These are YUMMY!, I married into an Italian family who always made sesame cookies for Christmas. My mother in law is 85 now and doesn't bake much anymore. I made these cookies for the extended family last Christmas and they were a big hit. Better then the cookies my mother in law used to bake. I love them and took to eating them for breakfast with a nice cup of coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very, very good. I didn't have anise extract so used almond. Tasted great but anise would have given them a more authentic bakery taste. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Finially found the recipe that is the same as my aunt's. She married into an Italian family and I only got these cookies at christmas time at her house. Now I can make them whenever...they are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
The dough had a pronounced anise smell but when baked they lacked flavor. The cookies were very easy to make. I omitted the milk wash and had no problem with the seeds sticking. A pretty cookie but needs more flavor. Perhaps a little vanilla and more anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Wow. Awesome cookie! I toasted the seeds at 350 for 10 mins. Watch them closely to be sure they don't burn. I added 2tbs of Ground anise seed. You can buy ground anise seed and crushed anise seed online at Penzeys Spices. Thank you for posting this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States