Aunt Anne's Sesame Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I just made these cookies for the first time and they are an Italian favorite and delish. I may have a suggestion to make prep time a little faster. Instead of taking walnut size pieces of dough grab a handful of dough and roll it out on the counter until desired thickness. You can then cut the strip into 2" pieces. This is the way I do Viennese Baton cookies and it goes very quickly. Do be sure that your hands are not wet from the milk once you get going. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Mascott
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Addictive!! Note: My butter was too soft which made the final dough too sticky to handle, but after a bit of time in the fridge, it was fine. I've found that it works well doing a round shape too...easier to make uniform cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Mascott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Great flavor, but I think it's essential to toast the sesame seeds (on a cookie sheet for 10 min at 350 degrees) before rolling dough. I ground 2 tbsp anise seed in place of the extract, and next time I will use at least 2.5 or 3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is my favorite sesame cookie recipe. I think the traditional Italian name is Giugiulena. Great with or without the anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
good, but not enough cookies for a large, Italian family's get-together. you've just got to have enough for everyone to take some home. otherwise, dough is silky, easy to handle, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These cookies were perfect!!! I made them exactly as written except I used half the butter. I agree with Marcelle2...this recipe only made 40 cookies. Also, you don't have to dip the dough in milk to get the sesame seeds to stick. I did it with and without. The only difference is that the dough gets more heavily coated when dipped in the milk first, but its so much more of a mess! The photo shown is without dipping them in milk. You can see they have plenty of sesame seeds on them. This is a great recipe that I will pass down to my daughters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Oh my God!!! These were delicious. Better than all the Italian Bakeries in New Jersey!! Loved the texture and the Amise aroma filled my house!! These will be great for the holidays coming up. For me the recipe made about 40 cookies not 60 as stated though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Not my Mom's, but still a good tasting cookie. Didn't use the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is the BEST Sesame cookie recipe I have ever tasted! Very simple and easy to make. A very delicate anise taste and not too sweet. I used cream instead of milk to coat them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Verry good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States