Aunt Anne's Sesame Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I really liked these, and gave them to several people who really like them too! Even people who claim to not like anise flavor! The only changes I will make in the future will be to use pre-toasted sesame seeds - they didn't get quite as toasty as I would have liked in the oven. And to chill the dough before rolling it. I didn't at first, and the dough was sticking to my hands really badly. Next time I'll let it sit in the fridge for an hour or so. The only change I made was to add a little lemon extract along with the anise. Delish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chicknchips
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Delicious and so easy! I just used 1/2 c. sugar and milk is not needed because the seeds stick just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great recipe, but here are my suggestions based upon my mother and aunt's recipe handed down by their mother and grandmother (all from Sicily.) Instead of anise, use vanilla. Instead of all white sugar, use half white and half brown sugar. Instead of dipping the rolled cookie in milk, dip in sugar water before rolling in the sesame seeds. Oh, and they use crisco instead of butter. One last note - before making these, rinse the sesame seeds, then spread on cookie sheet and lightly toast in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy!! I'm very impressed by the way these turned for our cookie swap. The only thing I messed up with is that I didn't have enough sesame seeds. I bought a canister thinking it would be plenty, but the recipe calls for ONE CUP. I ran out. Oh well, still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is a marvelously perfect recipe...just awesome. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joni470
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
awesome cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki4187

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Another 5 star review. Really good, really easy to make. I think butter should state room temperature otherwise how would you cream butter and sugar. Didn't do the milk/sesame step and seemed to have enough seeds. Didn't have anise extract so used almond and 1tbs ground anise seed. I only made 20. Definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
A very tasty cookie that is really easy to bake. My store didn't have anise extract, so I used anise seed (4 teaspoons). I also skipped the milk as the dough was moist and sticky enough that the sesame seeds stuck to the cookies in a thick layer, no problem. I will be making this recipe again, and will probably add another teaspoon of anise seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were delicious! They remind me of the sesame cookies you get at fine Italian Bakeries here in New Jersey. I made the recipe as written. I didn't however, form them in sticks. I dropped them using my cookie scoop and formed them into squarish balls . My great-aunt was over when I made these and even ask for the recipe! This is a great recipe that will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Perfect recipe. I use less sugar to reduce the sweetness, and it turn out great! You can also mix the sesame seeds with the batter so that they won't come off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States