Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for many years. I used to make this cake back in the early 80s. The recipe got lost in my many moves. I am delighted to find it again, just as easy, just as delicious! TIPS: Use COLD butter. Remember to NOT over-mix. Lumpy batter means tender cake. Also, I like to add 1/4 C chopped nuts to the streusel topping. Simple and perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I got overly excited about this cake, as many times as I saw it pop up in the reviews. Despite the title, looking at the pics, I just assumed it was a crumb cake. I so wanted a crumb cake and was really looking forward to this being done! As another reviewer said, the strussel topping does melt mostly right into the cake. It creates a thin crisp sugar cooking on top. I wanted a soft strusel. Other reviewers said their cake was hard or biscuit like. Mine was quite sweet, but was very moist. I can only assume their baking powder was not effective. The cake was pretty good, but the thin, sugary, crispy, unattractive coating just made it mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was very good, however, how it is listed ingredient wise could of been a bit easier if listed in order of tad bit dry, we used a 10x13 pan and baked at 350 for 25 min, maybe next time I'll add a lil more milk. Also since we love cinamon, we added some to the batter... we will make again!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great recipe, exactly the coffee cake from my childhood. The only thing I did differently was I used jumbo muffin liners as this for a bake sale. This made 28 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Good tips from comments: smaller pan, go with more generous proportions for the topping and freeze the topping overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Wow! Yum! I followed the directions pretty closely and my cake turned out to be perfectly delicious! I used a 10" round and it was the perfect size for me. I will say I was surprised at how much volume the cake had. It really does poof up. I did put some streusel in the middle as well. Also, after some mental debate, I put the top layer of streusel on the cake BEFORE putting it in the oven and it was perfect. My coworkers kept commenting that the cake had the perfect combination of crunchiness from the top layer, balanced with the delectable-ness of the rest of the cake. I really recommend trying the cake recipe as it is written before making too many changes. It was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly except I doubled the topping. I put half the batter in, sprinkled some topping on, poured the rest of the batter, then put the remaining topping on. Doesn't even need sour cream or yogurt in the recipe. I'm definately making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feldepau
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I added more butter to the streusel just because I like a little bit of a crumbier topping. At first it may look like there isn't enough batter but the cake comes our the perfect thickness. This is one of the most delicious recipes I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
So very easy and quick, everything for this recipe were things I always have around. I have four kids they are so picky and different but all loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Whoa this is so good! I followed the recipe for the batter, except I baked it in a 9x9 pan for a thicker cake. For the topping, I doubled it and used half white and half brown sugar. I baked the cake at 325 for 10 minutes, then sprinkled the topping on ( I only ended up using about 3/4 of what I made, I froze the remainder). I baked for another 15 minutes then bumped the temp to 350 for another 20 minutes. Turned out perfectly moist and the topping had that nice crunchiness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States