Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This cake turned out AWESOME!!! Didn't look like enough batter for a 9x13 pan, but I still used it and I'm glad I did, it turned out perfect. I did use 1/4 c butter, 1/2c flour, 1/2c sugar, and 1c brown sugar for topping and put in fridge. Add 10 mins before done. I also added a little cinn and all spice to the batter. Other than that I followed the recipe. Great cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
quick cake recipe, loved how much vanilla was in it! Streusel melted into the cake mixture (common problem with streusels). I compensated by opening the oven door after the 15 minute mark (golden rule of not disturbing the cake's environment - prevents sinkage)and added the streusel quickly. Ten minutes later cake was done and the streusel had survived as beautiful crumbles atop the cake! Next time I'll add more flour (coat the lipids of the butter), add streusel prior to oven baking, and hope the streusel doesn't melt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Nice flavour and jsut the right sweetness. Can add other things to this recipe easily to change the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTISCHOOR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent coffee cake! As many reviewers have suggested, I also baked this in an 8x8 dish. I have to admit that I was concerned about this recipe turning out right because after mixing the ingredients the batter was stretchy like bread dough. I had to stretch it to fill the dish. I also put half the streusel between two layers then topped with the remaining. I served it warm and it was perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I found this cake was completely cooked after 20 minutes, so definitely keep an eye on it while baking! This cake worked out very well in a 9x13 pan. You have to spread it out to make it fit, but it rises enough to make a nice size cake. I took other reviewers' advice and added 1/2tspn of cinnamon to the batter, which I think helped. I also used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar in the batter. I also changed the topping to be 1/2 cup each of flour, white sugar, and brown sugar, which made for a nice amount of topping. I still found the overall recipe to be slightly bland, so I added toffee bits and caramel sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is a good coffee cake exactly as is, with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rose0724
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Tried this recipe as it is and it turned out perfect. Made 15 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is an extremely easy recipe and it came out perfectly. The only thing I changed was the size of the pan - I used 8x11. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly how it was written. My husband took the cake to work with him and his employees loved it. Definitely making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
So very good. Tastes like it comes from a good bakery. Everyone here loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was very good. I followed the recipe, but added 1/2tsp almond extract & used 1/2c white and 1/2c brown sugar in the streusel as recommended by others. I also sprinkled the batter with walnuts before putting on the streusel. The cake is very dense & moist. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States