Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Ok nothing special as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made 2 changes and it came out perfectly! Instead of 2/3 cup of white sugar in the topping I did 1/3 cup each of white and brown sugar. Also, I baked it in a 8x8 pan for 45 minutes. This is a recipe I will definitely bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I turned this into an almond coffee cake. It was wonderful!! I did 1/2 white flour and 1/2 almond flour. For the streusel, I added chopped almonds, a bit of nutmeg, and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I sprinkled the top with almonds, as well. I put half the streusel in the middle and half on top. I also baked mine in an 8x8 as I think a 9x13 won't make a thick enough cake. This is fabulous traditional coffee cake recipe and a great basic to go by when experimenting with other varieties. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This cake as written needed a little work, in my opinion, so I added some brown sugar to both the strussel and the batter and used more cinnamon then called for. Also, I put some of the strussel in the batter and swirled it around with a butter knife, and then put the rest on the top during the last five minutes of baking. Make sure to make a little extra strussel. Without these changes I think the cake tastes too dense and like it has too much flour. These changes will give it a lot of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Awesome recipe! SO GOOD! The only change is that we baked it in a 9" circle pan because there wasn't enough batter for the 9x13. It seriously could've come out flat. We didn't modify the ingredients at all. We baked it at 30 minutes before checking it to see it was done using a toothpick. We baked it again for 5 minutes but now it's *slightly* dry. We should've taken it out maybe 2-3 minutes after we put it back in but ovens vary. Just keep a close eye on it. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very easy and good.i saved it when i first joined. ive added different nuts,berries and doubled it. im wondering how buttermilk might be vs sweet milk?so far the most flexable mix. oh i do freeze the topping for a few.and have added a little butter. :) started baking @ 49. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perky
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My husband says "the consistancy isn't right but it tastes good". He just doesn't want to hurt my feelings. This was the densest cake I have ever made, it was absolutely horrible! Its wetter than banana bread! I should've known when the batter was thick like brownie batter that it would have the consistancy of a cookie. I'll never make this recipe again, there was nothing that could've been done to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lufbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My go-to coffee cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
really yummy...just needed to add 2 tsp more of cinnamon to topping (personal preference) and perhaps would use brown sugar instead of white there next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
slightly dry for what i'd intended to be a dessert, but i think that's exactly what makes it good for mornings. absolutely delicious streusel topping. VERY good with coffee, of course ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States