Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very easy and good.i saved it when i first joined. ive added different nuts,berries and doubled it. im wondering how buttermilk might be vs sweet milk?so far the most flexable mix. oh i do freeze the topping for a few.and have added a little butter. :) started baking @ 49. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perky
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My husband says "the consistancy isn't right but it tastes good". He just doesn't want to hurt my feelings. This was the densest cake I have ever made, it was absolutely horrible! Its wetter than banana bread! I should've known when the batter was thick like brownie batter that it would have the consistancy of a cookie. I'll never make this recipe again, there was nothing that could've been done to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lufbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My go-to coffee cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
really yummy...just needed to add 2 tsp more of cinnamon to topping (personal preference) and perhaps would use brown sugar instead of white there next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
slightly dry for what i'd intended to be a dessert, but i think that's exactly what makes it good for mornings. absolutely delicious streusel topping. VERY good with coffee, of course ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I added more streusel to middle and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good :) The top turned out a little odd?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My mom used to make a bisquick coffee cake when i was a kid, and it was always my favorite. This one is 100 times better, I really liked it. I I doubled the crumble like others said and I put it on half way through. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great basic recipe. I made this for my boyfriend to take to a potluck at work and he said it was a huge hit. I doubled the recipe and used a different recipe for the streusel topping (using 1/2 cup brown sugar packed, 1/3 cup all-purpose flour, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 cup butter) then after the cake cooled for 15 minutes, I drizzled it with an icing made up of confectioners sugar and milk. The only thing I would do differently next time is maybe substitute the milk for something thicker like sour cream or yogurt- the cake part was not as moist as I expected it to be. Other than that, it was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I prepared and baked just as directed but pulled it out after the specified time and it was completely uncooked! Had to put it back in for at least 15 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States