Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I enjoy making coffee cakes on Sunday mornings for my family. This morning I wanted a quick and easy one to throw together, that didn't include a cake mix (trying not to eat stuff with preservatives), and found this recipe. Though this recipe is easy to throw together, it has a rough texture. The topping is off looking (needs brown sugar), and it seems almost greasy when you first take it out of the oven. The flavor is okay, but I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
used 9x9, added chopped apple to streusel and put in center and top was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent - made exactly as written, except I used margarine instead of butter. Next time I might try brown sugar instead of white on the topping. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good, needs a larger streusel to batter proportion, or I'd have given 5 stars. Nice texture and wonderfully fast to put together. Try it w/lemon zest & dried blueberries in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is a great, easy coffee cake. I baked this according to specifications exactly (except I did use brown rather than white sugar in the topping) and it came out delicious. I even used the 9x12 pan (and thought it was going to be a mistake). It rose beautifully. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow, I have never made coffee cake before and this was amazing. I didn't have any vanilla so i shredded a granny smith apple and put that in for some sweet and tart falvour. It worked great, will make this again. *update* I have made this cake several times now and although I have been adding the vanilla I still add a shredded apple. The one time I made it without the apple my hasband said he thought it was missing something. I added the apple the next time and he and the kids thought it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
VERY good! I followed the recipe to the letter except that I baked it in an 8 x 8 pan so that it would be taller. Because of this, I had to increase the baking time a bit (about 5 mins), but it came out tall, light and fluffy, and oh so delicious! Definitely a a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flower, and (because couldn't wait to taste) I used a muffin pan instead of the 9x13 pan. It made 12 good-sized muffins, and because I used the cake flour they came out extra fluffy and tender! I've been baking since I was a little girl, and this is by far the best coffee cake recipe I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was way too easy and way too delicious! ... I think I ate way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States