Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I really liked this recipe...the SECOND time I made it. The recipe says to pour the mixture over the top of the hashbrowns and although I cooked for the required time, the soups never combined with the potatoes, resulting in crispy, stuck-to-the-pan potatoes on the bottom and cooked soup on the top. HOWEVER...feeling that this recipe deserved a second chance, I mixed the hasbrowns together and then baxed. YUMMY. In addition, since my first disaster, when I have left over ham, I dice it up and throw that in too. This is a much quicker version of the "au gratin" potatoes my mom used to make when they peeled, boiled and cubed potatoes. Now, I just throw in the ingrediants, MIX, cook and serve. Kudos Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I just loved this recipe....I only did 2 things differently; after I baked the potatoes for 1 hour, I stirred the mixture and then added 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese; then baked the normal 30 additional minutes......if you are in a big hurry, the Ore-Ida potatoes O'Brian have onion and green pepper already included....saves a little chopping time....Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I have had a version of this recipe for many years. Mine calls for cream of chicken soup and cream of mushroom and NO green peppers. Also mix all ingrediants together, spread in 9x13 pan and then dot with 1/4 cup of margarine. The margarine helps to take away some the the dryness. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I made the following changes: used 2 cans cream of onion soup and drizzled 1/4 cup melted butter over the top. Covered with foil, baked at 350 for 1 hour. Uncovered and stirred in 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese and 1/4 cup milk. Then I baked it an additional 15-20 minutes. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Fast, easy and good.I did season it up a bit and added a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This is good with a few modifications. I've been making something similar for years that I like better: substitute some cream of onion and cream of chicken for the other soups, use sharp chedder, omit the green pepper, and mix everything up before putting into the pan. I think it's much better this way! If you use the Simply Potatoes (refrigerated) it takes hardly any time to make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
The first time I made it I thought it was good but a tad dry so I added some milk to the sour cream/soup mixture to make it a little creamier the next time. I like to add half of the cheese to the mixture as well and stir it in with the potatoes. I usually bake this at a higher temp, at leat 350, for 1 hour. Then I take it out, stir it up, top with remaining cheese and let it bake until the cheese bubbles. Yum. When I make it for people that don't like onions, I just add some onion powder. Make sure you add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
SUPER! I follwed the recipe exactly the first time that i made this and it was WONDERFUL! The next time though, I used half the recommended bell pepper and then added an extra cup of cheese before placing it back into the oven for the second time. I even stirred the three cups of cheese into the potatoes so that it was blended nicely and it came out even better! Thanks for this recipe! It is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This was easy and delicious. It's a versatile side-dish and we enjoyed it alongside our steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States