Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This is good with a few modifications. I've been making something similar for years that I like better: substitute some cream of onion and cream of chicken for the other soups, use sharp chedder, omit the green pepper, and mix everything up before putting into the pan. I think it's much better this way! If you use the Simply Potatoes (refrigerated) it takes hardly any time to make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Yummmmm! I made a few changes only because I was forced to. I used green onions because that's what I had and I just mixed the cheese right in and baked it at 350 for about an hour because that is all the time I had. My husband and I loved it and I can't wait to have the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This recipe was ok...I think it was better as a left over. I like to make one dish meals, so I put a layer of ground beef on top of the potatoes, and then topped it with the soup mixture. It tasted a lot like Hamburger Helper Cheesy Hash Brown; at least with that it only takes 20 minutes...I was expecting a lot better results with this recipe for almost two hours of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEWELCH
Home Town: Troupsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Rock Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was creamy and tasty. I will saute the onions and green peppers next time because they were both a little crunchy. Bravo! thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Once again, this site has come through! This is a great dish, I did make a couple of modifications... I substituted the cream of celery soup with cream of mushroom soup, added appx 2 Tsp of fresh minced garlic and generous amounts of black pepper & seasoned salt. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I had a pound of Yukon Golds and a ton of cheddar cheese left over from Thanksgiving, so I thought I'd give this recipe a try to use some of it up. I only used 1 can cream of mushroom soup (it was all I had, I think it would have been even better with cream of celery!) and no sour cream (used milk instead). I used 1/2 T onion powder instead of a fresh onion, and omitted the bell pepper. Even though I halved the potatoes, I still used the full 1 1/2 cups of cheese. These were pretty good...although I have to admit, way more work, way more waiting, and way more fat than just opening up a box of the "instant" au gratin potatoes....the potatoes obviously tasted a little fresher, but for the ease of things, I think I will probably only use the recipe when I've got extra potatoes and cheese lying around!! If I do make these again, I will probably try cheddar cheese soup and/or cream of celery. **Please keep in mind...I drastically changed the recipe by not adding sour cream, so don't let my review affect your decision unless you weren't planning on using it either!!** By the way, I upped the oven temp to 375 degrees, and although I was using raw potatoes, I was still able to shave 20 minutes off of the cooking time (45 min before adding the cheese, 25 after).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Just like my Mom used to make. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Great recipe. I use 2 c. of cheese - mix one in and top w/rest. Also, OreIda makes potatoes O'Brien, which is small cubed potatoes w/gr pepper and onion already in the bag. Good time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I was visiting family in another state and needed a good recipe to take to a family dinner. They loved this. The green pepper gives it a uniquely delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Terrific recipe! Very easy and user friendly. I substituted cream of chicken soup for the cream of potato soup and left out the onions and peppers because no one here likes them, and it turned out great. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States