Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I love potatoes and I loved these, they are so creamy, I could live off them! You should try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
The first time I made it I thought it was good but a tad dry so I added some milk to the sour cream/soup mixture to make it a little creamier the next time. I like to add half of the cheese to the mixture as well and stir it in with the potatoes. I usually bake this at a higher temp, at leat 350, for 1 hour. Then I take it out, stir it up, top with remaining cheese and let it bake until the cheese bubbles. Yum. When I make it for people that don't like onions, I just add some onion powder. Make sure you add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
A big, sloppy mess. This made a ton, and it filled up my trash can nicely. It tasted very "factory" made and not at all like au gratin potatoes. Kids(17, 14 and 10) wouldn't touch it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was very good and easy. I let the hashbrowns almost defrost; used low fat celery soup; low fat sour cream; 3/4 c. soy ched. and 3/4 c. reg. ched. Still a good amount of flavor using healthier alternatives. I'll make this again. Even my picky husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Fantastic side dish! This made quite a bit, which was great because we had it for a couple of nights. I took the advice of others and added a bit more cheese, 2 cups. I also used bacon flavored cheddar cheese, which was terrific. This side dish is so versatile- we had it one night with slow cooked bbq chicken, once with scrambled eggs, and once with feta chicken breasts. That last one I got from this website as well and it goes wonderfully with the au gratin recipe! Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Great and easy! I used lowfat soups and fat-free sour cream. I also sauteed the onions and bell peppers beforehand, and didn't add cheese. Was just fine! Definitely mix everything together first. I baked on 350 for about 70 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I added ham to this recipe to make it a main dish. Was a little bland for a main dish. Next time I will try adding green chilies and using monteray jack w/jalapenos for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I made this for a work function. It was delicious! Very flavorful. I added a bit more cheese and a dash of fresh black pepper. I've had many people ask for the recipe! My goal was to make a hearty side dish that my vegetarian work friend could eat at our party. She had 3 helpings and still talks about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Great recipe and very easy. Followed many of the suggestions and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I mixed the potatoes with all the ingredients (even the cheese) and used condensed celery soup and condensed cream of mushroom soup with added fresh chopped celery. It came out great and the crowd loved it. I adjusted the quantity to 35 and the preparing and cooking in bulk with this recipe was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States