Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is very good! I did leave out the green pepper but I could see it being good with it too! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I heart this recipe so simple and easy. All ways a hit for potluck dinners. I did make some changes as I've gotten more comfortable w/this dish. Like others I mix cream of celery or mushroom and chicken, half stick of butter, an egg a little chicken seasoning, mix in a bag of Colby/Monterey Jack and and a cook on the stove top for maybe 10 mins to tenderize the frozen potatoes and melt butter while mixing all the ingredients. Adding the sour cream to mix before transferring to the Pyrex. For me this cuts the baking time which aids in reducing dryness. Cover w/foil bake on 350 for an hour. Stir, add sharp cheddar and motzerlla cheese and bake uncovered for an additional 20 mins. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
A delicious recipe as a dinner side dish, and very easy. Here are a few tips and/or modifications that I made that I feel enhanced this recipe. First and foremost, I do not add green peppers. The taste is a bit overpowering, and it becomes more potatoes O'Brian than au gratin. Secondly, I add whatever 2 "cream of" soups I have available. Chicken, celery, mushroom, you get the drift... Third, I add the 1/4 c. of milk that everyone is talking about to the mix. It really does make it less dry. Fourth, I cook it with a foil covering for the 1st hour. A couple of tips that I've found: To grease the pan- Take a cold stick of butter and run it along the inside of the pan, into the corners especially, and all over the bottom of the pan. Coat the entire inside of the pan with your butter stick before adding ingredients. My potatoes have never stuck, and it's because of this old trick my Nana showed me. Cut peeled fresh potatoes in the food processor (or by hand if you must) into 1/4" rounds. In my opinion, this is what really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought it turned out good but needs something, mabe bacon. I went out and got a new glass pan that seem a little too big. I would also add salt and pepper to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner, thinking it would save me some time. And it did, but the dish was not as good as I expected from the reviews. I did make it as the recipe said to, so perhaps I'll give it another chance sometime, incorporating ideas others have shared. In the meantime, I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Photo by lovelygrl222
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was a great recipe and my first time making au gratin potatoes from scratch. The only difference is I used real potatoes and baked at 400 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. My fiancee really enjoyed the green pepper addition. Definitely a great potato side dish that I will be making for a long time. Whether you're using hashbrowns or real potatoes make sure to mix them with the other ingredients, don't just pour over it otherwise it won't come out right. I also added salt and pepper for a bit of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelygrl222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Cant say I would call this au gratin potatoes, but I didn't think it would be made with hash browns. It also is not the best hash brown casserole I have ever had. We found it very bland and I added 4 times to amount of cheese plus salt and pepper. Will not make it again, easy isn't always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It was good. Oddly enough, my husband and I thought it actually tasted better the second day on re-heat. I would make it again because it was so easy. I did change the recipe after reading lots of reviews: - Cream of Chicken and Cream of Mushroom - Obrien potatos with diced green bellpeppers and onions already in the mix. - Sharp cheddar cheese - mixed 1 cup of cheese with the mix and sprinkled more cheese on top at the end with French Fried Onions This took quite a while to cook. The directions said to pour the mixture over the potatoes, but did not say to mix. However, after cooking for 60 minutes, I realized that I needed to mix the potatoe and mixture together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My wife and I really like this recipe. I use this instead if mashed potatoes as a topper to my Shepard's pie VI (from this site). I cut the recipe in half and use cream of celery soup and cream of mushroom soup ( save leftover soups in a Ball mason jar in fridge). I leave out the green peppers and onions because I put onions in my Shepard's pie. Using this recipe is much easier than the mashed potato topping called for in the Shepard's pie recipe and very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This dish came out perfect the first time, all the ingredients were very easy to prepare. This was the first time in a long time we did not have any left overs at all. Will add this recipe to my regular dinner menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States