Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "T" and after over 2 hours of baking, the potatoes were still not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Union, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I prepared these on Thanksgiving and they were gone before my husband could even get any. They were easy and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPASLAY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
For a Thanksgiving potluck, my boyfriend wanted to make a cheesy potato dish. I found this recipe for him and he cooked it all by himself. I didn't have a hand in it, but from observation if a man who usually makes Mac & Cheese or Ramen can make this, ANYONE can make this. It turned out sooo cheesy, delicious, and this is going to be one of those dishes that we will make again for a potluck style gathering, most likely! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
First off, it took 90 minutes for the potatoes to cook through. But even then the taste was awful. The cream of celery soup was not a good flavor for this dish. I ended up throwing out almost all of it. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
YUMMY!!! My husband doesn't like onions so i didn't put any in but it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious! I doubled this recipe to feed 5 adults and 3 children at my Christmas dinner. It stole the show! Even the ham and turkey didn't get as many compliments. The only change I made was that I didn't add the onions because my brother does't like them. I only gave 4 stars because my only complaint was that the cornflake/butter ratio was a bit off for my taste. The top never got crunchy because there wasn't enough cornflakes to soak up that amount of butter. Next time I will just add another cup of cornflakes. Everyone should try this, though. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Absolutely love this recipe!!! I have been using it for years and has become a Thanksgiving stable the family drools all year for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I am making it right now. It's in the oven. I am using half cream of celery and half chicken as i saw someone suggest. I didn't add any onions though. Did make sure to add pepper and a little salt. I even grated my own potatos. Planning on putting panko on top. Will update with edit to let you know how it turns out :) Fingers crossed that it will be yummy. EDIT....Just finished eating. It was yummy but it was not 'wow' like i was hoping. My 4 yr old liked it which is good :)I feel something is missing. I'm thinking it would be great with bacon. So next time i'll try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit with my family. Impressive flavor for little effort! I did make a few changes, using what I had on hand. I used the frozen pre-shredded potatoes because it saves so much time. I used 1/2 a chopped red onion instead of the 1/2 cup of green onion. I didn't have sour cream, so I used a 5 oz can of evaporated milk instead. I will definitely make this again and the only other change I will make is less butter in the topping. 1/2 a cup was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe is Fantastic! I often substitute one cup of ham for one cup of potatoes. I have also doubled the "sauce" ingredients and added broccoli and cauliflower in place of the extra potatoes. Either way makes for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOlough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States