Au Gratin Party Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Made for a family event. All were eaten and given great compliments. I didn't even get to eat any. Second time I made them I actually got to try them and I think they were too velveeta cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was delicious. I used 2% milk and 2% Velveeta. I scaled this down for only 6 servings. I did microwave my cut potatoes until they were partially cooked not all the way done. Very rich and made a great holiday food for our 4th of July table! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My family did not like these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I made this for dinner scaling it down to 12 servings so there would be leftovers. I served it as a side dish with a ham I needed to cook. Everyone loved it including my picky son who usually doesn't like potatoes. Next time I'll just add the ham to the potatoes to make it a one dish meal. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom in College

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I scaled this down to 15 servings, or 1/4 of the original recipe. I tweaked it a little, and there are tweaks I would do for the next time. I scrubbed my potatoes and left the skin on when I cubed them. The next time I make it I won't pre-boil my potatoes at all. I boiled them for about 5-6 minutes until they were just under done and they turned out a little mushy and hard to mix with the other ingredients while still trying to keep the shape. Also, the scaled down recipe called for 3/4 pound of Velveeta. I'm just going to throw the whole pound in next time. Make it a little cheesier. The flavor was very good and I got a lot of compliments. I will make it again as it was quite easy to make, especially with leaving the skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I have finally found a recipe for au gratin potatoes that we love! I scaled this down to serve 4. Instead of cubing the potatoes, I thinly sliced them and boiled them with 2 cloves of crushed garlic for about 7 minutes before mixing with the other ingredients. I also used half and half instead of evaporated milk. They were creamy and delicious! My husband said never to buy the box au gratin potatoes (his usual favorite)ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roosterlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bunnell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
My family thought this dish was amazing. Next time I might use some sliced grilled chicken and use it as a main dish. I did modify this a bit though, I used the ingredients listed (which I scaled down to 4 servings), minus the paprika. I sliced about 5 medium potatoes and precooked them for about 7 minutes or so, just a little under done, drained them, and placed in my lightly greased cassorole dish. In a bowl I mixed the called for, 1/3 of the evaporated milk, salt, pepper, butter and about 3 slices of American cheese cut into very small strips (I had to work with what was on hand!). In addition I added a fourth a of medium sized green bell pepper (finely chopped), and about a 1/4 (or less) of finely chopped onions. I also added some garlic powder (because I was out of fresh garlic, otherwise that would have been my first choice), a packet of Goya Sazon (for color and taste), and just a shake of some creole seasoning, for a little kick, and mixed together. I spooned the semi-chunky mixture on top of my potatoes evenly, and poured the remaining sauce over the rest. I popped it in the oven (350 F) for 30 minutes or so until it was done. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yadee87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Scaled it down to feed 12 and it got rave reviews - easy to prepare and very tasty! Great texture and everyone declared it a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I cut down the serving size for a small party of 12. It was tasty, but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States