Atomic Canuck Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I've made this four times in two months - everybody loves this chili and it's the best on this website (I've made quite a few chilis! Couple of changes: I add fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I used a few dashes of Franks Red Hot, Worschire Sauce, and liquid smoke. I only use around 1 small jalapeno and I add a bit of cumin (probably around a tablespoon. I left out the carrots because it seems weird in chili. As for the BBQ sauce, I always use Diana BBQ sauce - a Canadian staple that I'm not sure if you can get outside of Canada. Also this works well with less meat and more beans (or even vegetarian). I usually sub one pound of ground meat for tofu, which I lightly pan fry before adding to the chili. This could be easily made vegetarian by omitting the meat completely and adding more cans of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
want to win a cook off here ya go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I've made this chili many times, always with rave reviews! I use 1 lb. of ground beef and 1 lb. of ground pork, add a can of corn, double the amount of beer and use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and fresh mushrooms. I get requests to make this for Grey Cup every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We love this recipe just the way it is (with one exception, I hate mushrooms. So I leave them out). I've made this a few times now and sometimes have to modify it based on ingredients that are in the house (Pinto beans, crushed tomatoes, Cuban black beans, and so on). It's a great recipe to use up leftover pasta sauce, veggies, etc. I've even thrown in some leftover broth. Each time it's amazing (I guess my point is, don't be afraid to change a few things if need be). It's even better on the reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Breitlauch

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Not great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
We love hot in our house so we loved this hearty chili. I did use 1 lb of pork & 1 lb of beef instead of all beef. One reviewer recommended adding a couple of spare ribs for added flavor so I did and loved it. I also didn't like the sugar so on the second go around I added no sugar and found it was sweet enough from the barbeque sause and baked beans. I used the whole bottle of beer and not the 1/4 cup called for in the recipe. What can I say? I'm from Ireland and couldn't waste a good pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I love the sweet and spice that I get from the ingredients. And adding the maple beans as one reviewer said was a definate plus. I have a really picky family and a chef of a sister and she even said she actually likes it!! A for sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this for the Super Bowl. The sweetness of the baked beans, bbq sauce and sugar counter the spicy jalapenos and red pepper nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Graves
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious as is - no need for tweaking with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States