Atlantic Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I made this Chowder for a bible study group who just loved it. They don't eat meat so this was perfect. I used a veg base instead of water to cook potatoes, added shredded carrots and some extra cream and reg corn. It came out Great for the first time making it and I will use this recipe again & again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA MARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
It was delicious. So simple and so yummy. I only made one change. We are not huge onion fans, I put one shallot instead of a whole onion. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I am from Atlantic Canada and this is the recipe my grandmother and mother and I all use and we love it. We also add a can of niblets corn a couple of diced carrots and what really makes the difference is about a tablespoon of butter on top!It's even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
after reading the reviews I changed the soup a little the first time... I browned the onions in a little butter, added some fresh corn, used equal parts of vegie broth and water just covering the potatoes, added green onions and salt and pepper. I ended up adding to much pepper but other than that it was good, my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Great "starter" soup recipe. Especially for beginners like me. I did lots of tweaking, used chicken broth & water, 2 cans creamed corn, added a can of asparagus, and seasonings; onion powder, lawry's seasoning salt, salt, pepper, and topped with fresh shredded cheddar. turned out VERY well, even the little ones enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Quick, easy and great with biscuits, just like they said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Simplicity makes this recipe tasteful, though for taste it does need a bit of salt and pepper--and by bit I mean a healthy dose. I added an extra can of creamed corn to make it thicker and added a can of clams for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I really didn't like this recipe, I tried to fix it up a bit but... not good. It was easy to make, and cheap too, but thoses are the only good points
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I have to agree this was a bit bland, but really not too bad, warming on a cold day and very easy to make. In the end, I did add some thyme, sage and pepper. For those with the "too thin" problem -- I saw this coming so I only *barely* covered the potatoes to cook them, and I mean to the point that corners of cubes were peeping through, and then stirred them often while cooking. All the water was soaked up this way. As someone else already said, mashing them a bit is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I added fresh chopped rosemary and basil leaves and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States