Asparagus-Zucchini Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This side dish I agree is easy and makes good size portions, but I would recommend using a chicken, vegetable or even beef broth instead of water for more depth of flavor. The spices are strong (I would have held back a little on the thyme), but compliment the veges. Cooking the vegetables with the rice makes them mushier than I would have liked, so I may not cook them much first next time. I also added fresh mushrooms and topped with parmesan cheese when served. Husband generally liked this, so we will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Very good! I used couscous instead of rice(1 cup water + 1 Cup couscous)and I mixed it all together once the couscous was steamed and fluffed. I will probably make it the same way with the rice because I afraid that the veggies might be overcooked for my taste. I will be making this again with rice, couscous or maybe even pastas like orzo and risi. Thank you for this versatile gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Not the greatest. It had a good flavor, but cooking the veggies WITH the rice for so long made them mushy. If I make again, I will add the veggies for the last couple of minutes the rice is simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not sure why you would cook the vegetables until tender, followed by cooking them again, for another 20 minutes, with the rice. You’d end up with unattractive mush. I didn’t do that. I sautéed the vegetables separately, cooked the rice in chicken broth, and then combined the two. In addition, looking over the recipe told me this would be "herb overkill" for my tastes, so I just used Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning (but any seasoning of your choice would work). This was very good with the above-mentioned modifications, and I’m glad I came across it to make use of the zucchini and asparagus I had in the fridge, but it’s still a basically flawed simple recipe for rice mixed with vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe, although I will use a little less cayenne next time as a bit too hot for my taste. Also used chicken stock rather than just water. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I did several things differently... I cut up 2 chicken breasts and cooked them in butter, set that aside, then cooked the veggies and added the chicken back in right before adding the spices. I personally liked the zucchini the best, so I used 2 of those. I doubled the amount of oregano, basil & garlic. I also made the rice in a different pan. I tried to make basmati wild rice, but that didn't work out so well... :) (if anyone knows how to make it right, I would love the help!) so I ended up making instant rice and mixing it in with the veggie/chicken mixture, which was EXCELLENT. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Very easy to make. We used brown rice. Lovely flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
very good flavor...the onion gave it a robust taste and I added more cayenne pepper for some extra heat and we really enjoyed this...will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I thought this was good. The whole bowl was devoured! Lots of flavor. My 12 year old did not like it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I used mushrooms instead of zucchini and it was very good. Also added celery salt to the seasoning. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States