Asparagus-Zucchini Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Cooked for 30 minutes using brown rice. Veggies were soggy so next time cook rice separately for 20 minutes then combine with veggies to finish cooking. Also try increasing amount for each spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
The flavor was great. I cooked my rice separately using chicken broth [instead of water]. then mixed the 2. I prefer my vegies ala dent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
With Modifications! I Followed Some Advice Previously Stated to Use Chicken Broth, So I Cooked My Brown Rice In The Chicken Broth, Added Mushrooms To The Saute MiX, And Added Can Of Cream Of Chicken To stick It All Together To Make It More Of A Traveling Side Dish For Family Functions:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was a nice light side dish. I omitted the onion, used only italian seasoning, and cooked rice separately in the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not sure why you would cook the vegetables until tender, followed by cooking them again, for another 20 minutes, with the rice. You’d end up with unattractive mush. I didn’t do that. I sautéed the vegetables separately, cooked the rice in chicken broth, and then combined the two. In addition, looking over the recipe told me this would be "herb overkill" for my tastes, so I just used Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning (but any seasoning of your choice would work). This was very good with the above-mentioned modifications, and I’m glad I came across it to make use of the zucchini and asparagus I had in the fridge, but it’s still a basically flawed simple recipe for rice mixed with vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Followed it pretty much, except used only zucchini and added more cayenne pepper and I used chicken stock. It made a little less than the serving said, but overall good. - I will make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Not a bad recipe. I cooked the vegetables in some vegan margarine, then transferred it to my rice cooker with brown basmati and water. After cooking I threw some defrosted edamame in with it. I would definitely play around with the seasonings in the future, but it's a nice and healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieatwithgusto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gansevoort, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was a huge hit with my family. I put the rice, water and vegtables in the bottom of my rice cooker. I put the vegtables in the steamer basket of my rice cooker. When the rice and vegtables was done tossed them together with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NarumKnits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
The vegetables were delicious. I ended up not mixing them into the rice and just eating them alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I tried this recipe with a few changes...I used chicken stock and brown rice, and I added mushrooms and garlic. It was delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States