Asparagus Wrapped in Crisp Prosciutto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is wonderful. I make it as a side with baked salmon and my boyfriend doesn't know which tastes better. Regardless, the dinner ends with a clean plate and a happy man. I use super thin asparagus and proscuitto, make sure to only use enough to cover, approximately a third of a strip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Wonderful treat, quick easy nutricious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
4 stars, only because the recipe calls for each spear to be wrapped. Although this is best grilled, as others have mentioned, it can be delicious roasted as well. I simply finish it off under the broiler for a crisp finish to the meat. However, I've never, ever just wrapped one spear in prosciutto. For one thing - that's expensive! But more to the point, the meat 'is' very salty, so we bundle anywhere from 3 to 5 spears and just lightly drizzle with evoo. For a change, a little balsamic, a squeeze of lemon or a little zest is excellent as well. I wonder if the author prefers the thick stemmed asparagus, which might make a little difference. I only use the thin, tender ones. Also, more than not, I serve these at room temperature as an app. - so I'm perplexed as to the instruction to "serve immediately", which isn't a bad thing - but it's not the only alternative. My young neice & nephew will only eat this veggie at my house and they have never had them served hot, so don't be intimidated by time management with this one. DO TRY this recipe! It IS soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious, easy and fun to make and elegant as an appetizer. At least one guest at every event where we've served this has asked for the recipe and then made it for their special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good! I liked the photo that another reviewer submitted with 3 spears bundled together. I might try that next time, as the prosciutto was a little too salty for the tiny spears I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
A few reminders--the prosciutto must be paper thin (have your Italian deli slice the (Parma brand) prosciutto rather than buying pre-sliced) and do not over cook the asparagus! The only issue with these appetizers are that they must be eaten immediately. If they sit out for more than 10 minutes they get mushy and soggy. Martha Stewart has the best twist for them. Blanch asparagus first and then roll asparagus, prosciutto, and parm in filo dough then bake them. The filo dough gets crunchy, they last longer and they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was so tasty! Even the non-asparagus lovers at our party loved this. Wrapping the spears with the thin meat took a bit of practice, but even the ones that didn't look good still tasted great. I used half a slice of prosciutto per spear and baked 7 minutes per side. Next time, I'd skip the oil. The prosciutto creats plenty of grease as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wonderful stuff. I tried this with the prosciutto and some thin sliced bacon and definitely preferred the prosciutto. The bacon did not get crisp enough by the time the asparagus was cocoked. It cooks fast. This was great and I will make it again for sure. Thanks for sharing Thaider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by Kitters82
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
awesome!..with/without cream cheese tried both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitters82

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Germany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These are so easy and yummy! I also drizzled with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pres. of household

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States