Asparagus with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This recipe was great. Easy, healthy and delicious. I used cherry tomatoes and added a splash of white balsamic vinegar. YUM. My mother in law makes the same thing with green beans, also very good. I will make this again soon! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was the first year I had to cook for a large family gathering. It was Thanksgiving this year. I did both asparagus and green beans. I brought the green beans to my aunt's house for dinner and everyone was asking who made them. They loved them!!! I made the asparagus a few days later at home for my boyfriend and I only because it's so much more expensive. It was great with both vegetables! I did add extra tomato and garlic to the recipe just because I wanted to make a more dramatic flavor, but I loved loved loved this dish! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
this is an excellent, healthy recipe. I used lemon pepper to flavor instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was excellent! I roasted the asparagus at 450 for 14 minutes rather than blanch it. I tripled the garlic and increased the tomatoes to about 4 large tomatoes. DEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanD112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Some of my tips: 1) Chopping asparagus into thirds will make them a more manageable length when eating. 2) Check for and discard pieces of asparagus (especially the pieces closest to the ground) that are woody... they won't be be pleasant to chew later. 3) Put the thicker pieces into water right from the start. Add the asparagus tops to the water later, because they need shorter cooking time. All in all, this is a simple and great recipe for one of the best vegetables in existence: Asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe! I used fresh green beans instead and fresh garlic and a bit of onion powder and dry parsley flakes. I finally found a good side dish that is not fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yesenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I intended to make these on another night, but Hubs nixed the idea because he didn't think he'd like this so I went with something else. But that didn't work tonight, and I'm glad I went with it anyway. Turns out we both enjoyed this! I did change the cooking method, however, cooking the tomatoes separately, then using them to top the asparagus, which I blanched for two minutes then shocked in ice water. I liked this method, which preserved the integrity and color of both the tomatoes and the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Will make this again - it went very well with the baked king fish I made for dinner tonight! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Andrewslove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I used sun dried tomato because my guy doesn't like fresh tomato. Also used fresh basil - it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Fixed this last night, in between tornado warnings, and everyone agreed it was great(didn't leave a single bite in the dish). Flavors mingled nicely with none overpowering. Only change I made was in amount of EVOO--I reduced it a little. Served along with roasted new potatoes and baked ham for a very Springtime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States