Asparagus with Sliced Almonds and Parmesan Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
We love this. I cook the asparagus my usual way - add spears to boiling salted water, and simmer until they turn bright green (about 2 mins). Drain, and immerse in a bowl of iced water - heat the butter in the skillet, add the asparagus and and let it heat through. I then add the almonds, and stir. I sprinkle the cheese over the asparagus on the serving plate - this all avoids soggy almonds, over-cooked asparagus, and gluey cheese. Delicious and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I always add chopped garlic when I sautee asparagus...And like Caroline C said, add the premesean cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I made this as a side dish for a Sunday family dinner and received wonderful reviews on it! The only thing I did different was that after I bolied the asparagus, I drained them and then immediately put them in ice water. I laighly sauteed the almonds in butter and then turned the heat down and added the asparagus. I added the cheese after I removed it from the pan to elliminate a big string mess and to make a great presentation. This is a great way to get your kids to eat asparagus and almonds are an excellent source of nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greek Girl Dea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I love this- make it all the time. I never use shredded parmesan however; it probably would gum up if you did. The cheese browns quickly and you kind of have to watch it. It is yummy and the ONLY way I'll eat asparagus. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENZ64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Very tasty. I used olive oil in place of butter and added some pepper, garlic sea salt and used toasted slivered almonds. Beautiful, easy and a new regular for us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PENG1DEB
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was easy and delicious! I waited to add the Parmesan until I put the asparagus on the serving platter, which worked out quite well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I used freshly shredded parmesan cheese and ended up with crisp and tasty asparagus with a wad of melted cheeses studded with almonds. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Didn't care for the cooking method, which is why I rate this four stars. Specifically, I know that adding and "cooking" the cheese with the asparagus in the pan would have resulted in a sticky, nasty pan to clean so while I used the ingredients as directed in the recipe, I just modified how I put it together. I simply steamed the asparagus, then dressed it up with the almonds (toasted at 350 degrees for 5 minutes) and shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano. Elegant and steps above plain, cooked asparagus - five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was a Thanksgiving hit! Great presentation, awesome taste. My brother went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
My sons (who don't much care for asparagus) asked me to make this two nights in a row. There's something about the combination of the browned Parmesan with the asparagus that's wonderful. I recommend this one for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States